We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unhappy with their hospitality - another rip-off”
Review of Hoa Binh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoa Binh Hotel
Ranked #114 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Tirol
1 review
“Very unhappy with their hospitality - another rip-off”
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We arrived very tired on the bus from Hue and thought the price of 10 USD is not gonna be beaten by other competitors, so we went for the cheap & easy deal. The receptionist told us that 10 USD would not include AC but it would be an extra charge of 1 USD only. We left it open for further consideration.

However, after having dinner, we came back and our room was BOILING. So we went down to the reception and asked for the AC remote control. This is where the hassle began:

1) The person supposed to talk to us was more interested in online gaming than talking to us and help solving our problem.

2) He said something like "you cannot have it, because you only paid 10 USD". We said, we know that it will cost more but it should be 1 USD, as we were told upon arrival. His reply was "1 person 1 USD, 2 person 2 USD"!!!!

3) After that, we also realized a couple of other things. The hot shower was only hot for about 3min. My girlfriend did not have any warm water at all.

4) The internet was down the whole day.

5) The room smelled like urin. We had a look at the matrace in the morning and suprise surprise - it was not "NEW" anymore.

6) The restaurant is a complete rip-off (so are the fridges in the rooms). Go to CAFE 43, if you want great meals for great value!!! It is only a 5min walk from the hotel.

After all, I cannot recommend this place, although it is cheap and well-located. We are not worried about paying a dollar more or less but WE DO CARE about customer-focus, and this is certainly something you don't find here!!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bennywaldhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    177
    101
    47
    54
See reviews for
14
176
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Worldwide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We were dropped off at this hotel on a bus from Nha trang but had plans to stay somewhere else. When we asked the man at reception he told us the hotel we were looking for was 2km away when really we discovered it was just round the corner! We were keen to get a good price so when another man from the hotel heard we were looking to go somewhere else he told us we could have a double room with air con for $10 as long as we didn't tell any of the other guests so we agreed to stay for 1 night. When we got back to our room later that evening we tried to turn the air con on but it did not work so we called reception. After I explained the situation to him he simply shouted "air con is $12" and then hung up on me! We called him back twice more only to be told that he wasn't aware of any 'deal'. Not only are they liars but they are also extremley rude and unhelpful - I would avoid this hotel at all costs!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunsea123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Tasmania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Having arrived in Hoi An very early, we were keen to find a room as soon as possible. The bus stopped outside Hoa Binh and against our better judgement we decided to take the room we were shown without comparing to any other hotels in the area. The room itself was ok, clean, comfy double bed, a well stocked mini bar and good air-con. But the hot water in the bathroom took a very long time to come on that first day and then barely worked after that at all, and the ceiling in the bathroom leaked over the bath and the toilet constantly. When we looked at the room, we were told that there was broadband internet available in the room, but, later when we asked for the password, we were told that there wasn't one, and were told to use the computers in the lobby - which then dropped in and out of service! Sadly, there were a couple of staff members who weren't friendly at all, and in fact, made us feel like it was a bit of a chore to get our room key or answer any questions we had. In regards to their "recommended" tailor - we thought it seemed a bit suspect when we were shown pages of glowing recommendations for Peace Tailors, and having visited the shop, we decided to check out a few other tailors in the area, and ended up going with Thuong who provided exceptional service, for a cheaper price, and our clothes (10 items) were ready within 24 hours with only a small alteration in the trouser leg length required. In hindsight, we should've compared rooms in other hotels because for USD$15 (no extras included) there would definitely be better deals and friendlier places to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolfgangCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

We stayed at Hoa Binh for 3 nights in July 09. The rooms were very small but clean. Facilities were generally fine except the shower was pretty pathetic and never really got hot enough. They also had a pool but it is small and in a pretty weird spot, next to the restaurant and internet area, which feels very public. We were prepared to accept all this for $12 a night.

When we checked in, they showed us a book of reviews of tailors in Hoi An, supposedly all written by previous customers. Pretty much all of the good reviews were for the one place, Peace tailors. I thought at the time this was a bit dodgy but we all ended up going there to get clothes made anyway, figuring that most of the reviews looked genuine enough.

The service in the Peace tailors was awful. Of all the clothes we had made, none of them came back as we wanted them and any requests for alterations were met with aggressive and rude responses from the people running the place.

After we got back to the hotel they changed our towels the next day for ones which actually had "Peace Hotel" written on them. It was then obvious that the hotel and tailors were being run by the same people.

So the hotel is ok (pretty average but I'm sure you can do much worse for $12) but steer clear of the Peace Tailors.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djgrayboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Rude staff, shockingly bad service and managed to give ourroom to someone else while we were in it!!!!! and didnt even apologize then thought they had lost our passports when we asked for them back!
Avoid this place at all costs! There are about 15 hotels for the same price (which is not cheap!) on the same road! we are notthe only people to check out early to stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavinUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
screeny1
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Almost nothing we got as promise (actually more like deal as we agreed with the front desk) ended up to be true. This included room price, service (aircon, internet, wifi that most of the time did not work) and transfer to the airport of Danang.
If you insist on coming here, make sure you have everything written down and signed by the chief clerk (lady) or the owner, otherwise you just get a "sorry", just the way we did.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank screeny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights and had a twin room for USD 15. The staff was very nice and helpful (did a visa extension through them and laundry). The room was nice, clean and with fridge and TV. The only drawback was that at checkout they wanted to charge us for 3 water bottles we never consumed. We said we didn't consume anything and after that they gave up pretty quickly. Would definitively stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#102 of 147 in Hoi An
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#116 of 147 in Hoi An
185 reviews
1.5 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#97 of 147 in Hoi An
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#100 of 147 in Hoi An
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#135 of 147 in Hoi An
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
Huy Hoang Garden Hotel
#117 of 147 in Hoi An
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa Binh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa Binh Hotel

Property: Hoa Binh Hotel
Address: 696 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hoa Binh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoa Binh Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing