We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Stay”
Review of Hoa Binh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoa Binh Hotel
Ranked #122 of 156 Hotels in Hoi An
Peacham, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fine Stay”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hoa Binh Hotel for 3 nights during our four week trip through Vietnam. It was a fine hotel. For the price you can do worse.

Pro:
- Nicely appointed room (it's got style!)
- Good (and reasonably priced) tour of My Son = $8 plus $5 site admission per person for bus there, tour, lunch, boat back, tour of woodcarving village
- Nice staff

Cons:
- Hard bed
- Rooms are smaller than most for the price point
- The comforter had lots of stains and looked like it had not been laundered. Stained (but clean) sheets. Slightly smelly pillow.
- No separate shower area (just a showerhead and a drain in a corner of the bathroom)
- Breakfast was not great (although free)

Although we didn't have problems with the staff ourselves, on the last day we heard the lady at the front desk hasseling another guest for not booking a tour through the hotel. This isn't that unusual for Vietnam, but it is annoying. She was also very insistent when checking out that we right a good review for Tripadvisor (whoops!)

To sum up, a perfectly fine option. Not going to blow your mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    177
    101
    48
    54
See reviews for
15
177
75
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We really liked it, we had a small but beautiful room (308) that if you go and is empty go for it ! really nice. We liked the breakfast as well, and we thought that the women at the desk were very helpful an nice to us. We felt very welcomed and we thought that has been one of the most nice hotels that we have been around southeast asia. The location is good, right in he middle, so everything is very handy! . The only thing that we didn't like was the Bellboy, as we think he was very pushy and uncouth, very out of place over and over. He is not a great addition to the hotel but besides that, everything is perfect!

Room Tip: I had the 308 room and we loved because it was right in the middle of two halls, so any room after a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macarena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and found the hotel to be okay. We had a triple room which was three single beds. The room was clean, albeit the bathroom about ready for a revamp! It had the feel of a hostel rather than a hotel. Breakfast was average. Okay options: cereal and toast, plus omelettes. Probably better to eat out for breakfast though.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MartinH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we stayed here for 3 nights and the room was very spacious, clean and got cleaned everyday. Also great location. Only thing that wasnt to our taste was the breakfast was gloopy carbonara and horrible pancakes but cant fault anything else. Great stay.

Room Tip: Try not to have a room on the ground floor if possible as we did and was very loud with people comin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyNorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel is nice, breakfast buffet was good and room was good value. Our stay was unfortunately a bit ruined by the woman that was working at the desk, she was very uninterested in us and our questions and always started to talk to someone else which I found very rude.
Above that she always gave us the fakest smile ever...
Thank god the cleaning ladies and the staff working at the breakfast buffet were nice!
Sometimes there was another woman at the reception wo did want to help us out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean, comfortable, well lit with a stocked mini bar/fridge, caple tv, AC, great wifi. Free buffet breakfast was by far the best we've had in Asia. Staff was extremely knowledgable and nice. Hands down out favourite place and for SO cheap! The value is incredible.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrongsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and a friend started to book two nights at Hoa Binh Hotel, but ended staying there for five nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful and always met us with a big smile and a "good morning/day/evening".
I really liked the breakfast - one of the best i have had in a hotel in Vietnam - with warm food, bread, fruit and more. When we had to leave the hotel at 6 a.m. for Ho Chi Minh we ate our own breakfast, but when we left for the airport they gave us some breakfast for the ride - very nice.
There was nothing wrong with the room and it was cleaned every day.
The location is very nice - 10 minutes walk to where everything happens in Hoi An. It is not a luxury hotel, but for the price, I think it is very good. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuneThode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#111 of 156 in Hoi An
196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#126 of 156 in Hoi An
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#110 of 156 in Hoi An
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#103 of 156 in Hoi An
81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#144 of 156 in Hoi An
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thien Nga Hotel
Thien Nga Hotel
#112 of 156 in Hoi An
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa Binh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa Binh Hotel

Property: Hoa Binh Hotel
Address: 696 Hai Ba Trung St., Hoi An 560000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Hoa Binh Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing