We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesn't live up to the hype”
Review of Cafe 43

Cafe 43
Ranked #89 of 777 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
193 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Doesn't live up to the hype”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to this restaurant based on our guidebook's recommendation. Upon arriving we were overwhelmed by the accolades written by previous guests. So I guess we were expecting something really, really special. Well, that is not what we got. The food was OK, but very far from fantastic. In fact it was the first place in all of South Asia where everything tasted of pepper. I am not a fan of pepper in any case, but it should especially be very lightly used in South Asian cuisine. Here everything was soaked in pepper.
The beer is the cheapest we have seen in Hoi An, but the food is not special.
Verdict - not worth the trek. If you happen to be in the neighourhood, go for it, but don't go out of your way to eat here

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank utas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    556
    226
    90
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Outstanding quick and cheap food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Menu is vast and the food is delicious and cheap. Friendly service. Highly recommended. A cut above most traveller restaurants. Also does great cooking courses. Just ask.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank new_test_leper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We enjoyed the food here and ate her twice whil in Hoi An. The fresh beer was great and we were welcomed back the second time. Well worth a visit on a budget

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank EnglandMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Deserves all the positive reviews it has received on Tripadvisor. The lemongrass tofu was the best tofu we've ever eaten. Friendly service, reasonable prices too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Internationalgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun cooking class with family!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our hotel recommended this small family restaurant for a cooking class and we SO enjoyed it. We choose our 5 dishes the day before, paid our USD5/pp. Hien was very well prepared, she had all the veggies on a plate per dish, meat pre-sliced etc.She runs through the exact quantities she uses as she goes so you can write it all down. Chopping veggies, mixing ingredients, cooking / stirring was for us as per her instructions and I must say she was excellent in involving the kids (girl of 13 and boy of 11). Our favorites were stuffed squid, chicken curry, and the rice pancakes with shrimp. It was finished in just over 2,5 hours and a perfect ending to our day! Strongly recommended!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KM250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 43 also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Cafe 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing