We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location & excellent cooking class”
Review of Dao Tien

Dao Tien
Ranked #148 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dao Tien had Moved To Dao Tien River on the same name at 19/4 Phan Boi Chau st.At the same street but on the River View.600M EAST of Hoi An Market
Vietnam
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“nice location & excellent cooking class”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We enjoyed a cooking class at Dao Tien restaurant in Hoian. Firstly, we arrived at the restaurant at 09:00am. We had a welcome drink. Then we went to Tra Que village to explore the villagers houses, vegetables, species...We came back to Dao Tien to learn cooking class. The chef is attentive and professional helping us to cook local dishes even we cook at home very well. Very good experience to try

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmosTravelVietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    150
    57
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic River Location”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This restaurant is great. The staff are well trained , the location is fantastic and the food is to die for. Go there on a visit to Hoi An

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenshoe, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location & Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Although neighbouring restaurants possibly offer a less expensive menu, this is definitely a venue to partake in at least one meal.
The staff are extremely helpful and attentive. The riverside venue is comparable to it's neighbouring restaurants, but the attention to the customer is unparalleled.
For a tropical basking in luxury and attentive service, this is a must visit restaurant,

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussy St Georges, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Frustrating, expensive & little quantity”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Following some good recommendations from our travel guide, we wanted to try a better place for a diner. All prices were expensive compared to all places we tried in Vietnam but we were thinking that it could be a good opportunity to enjoy a good "cuisine".
As a conclusion, cocktails were not tasty at all (little alcohol & lot of water/ice), nothing in the plates (3 pieces of meat, a few vegetable and some streamed rice) and the service was too oppressive (a empty glass was filled immediately whereas we didn't want to drink anymore, the plates were removed too fast). No way, to enjoy a expensive but good quality diner.
Next time, we won't read our travel guide and we will enjoy any local restaurant as per our feeling.
Now, I'm hungry and I will look to something to eat...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank legrosandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wonderful riverfront location with average food. The staff ask you where you are staying and give you the menu with prices to suit. The most expensive meal we had in Vietnam. We were persuaded to have a fish dish, mine was 6 miserable prawns in tamarind sauce and a bowl of rice. Suggest you eat elsewhere, as there are plenty of other excellent places to eat in Hoi An.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dao Tien also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dao Tien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing