We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous waterfront dining in Hoi An”
Review of Dao Tien

Dao Tien
Ranked #159 of 824 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Dao Tien had Moved To Dao Tien River on the same name at 19/4 Phan Boi Chau st.At the same street but on the River View.600M EAST of Hoi An Market
Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Fabulous waterfront dining in Hoi An”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent three evenings in Hoi An at the end of our three week SE Asian trip. Previously, we had eaten at Brothers. We loved the atmosphere but found the food meh. Still looking for a great waterfront dining experience, we tried Dao Tien and found it ticked all the boxes. We asked for a river front table (note that there is a small bikeway between the restaurant and the river but it's not obtrusive) and landed a great spot. Service was flawless, atmosphere balmy and food excellent. Two thumbs up.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank upnatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    152
    57
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pleasant location average food but don't go on a Sunday!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Nice location by the river but the meal was ruined by the deafening noise on coming from the dreadful singing of the live band at the restaurant next door. The waiter explained that this happened every Sunday evening.

Several potential customers walked in to the resaurant but walked out before ordering because they could not stand the noise. I wish that we had done the same.

The food was OK but no better than that.

The service was fine until the bill came. When asked why my bill presented in Vietnamese Dong was to be taken from my card in US dollars the waitress was decidedly brisk.

Helpful?
1 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madliena, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely setting but...”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Thought we'd eat better. Staff very friendly, table with river view. Our lunch was quite good, The Dao Tien speciality 'moneybags' was very tasty. The rest of the meal was Ok, perfectly fine to relax after a hot few hours walking around town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDeCesare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Charming location next to the river”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Dao Tien restaurant has a lovely location outside under the trees next to the river. The food was ok and the service good. It provided a pleasant relaxing lunch in between walking through town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wang900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to reviews we'd read”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just thought that the food was really average. Not nearly as nice as other places we ate in Hoi An and not as cheap. Nice location though.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dao Tien also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Dao Tien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing