We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Mermaid restaurant is one of Hoi An's original restaurants established in 1991. The decor is very simple but the food is out of this world. As suggested by Lonely Planet we tried the fried spring rolls and the white rose dumplings which were both superb. We also tried the seafood hotpot which was amazing but the real standout dishes were the seafood wantons and the squid stuffed with pork and mushroom. I must give honorable mentions to both Morning Glory and Mango Mango both amazing restaurants in their own right but for quality and real value for money you can't go past Mermaid. Simply the best.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thornbury_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    322
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just happened to walk into this restaurant. The staff was really friendly from the start, even though we had not booked a table. The restaurant was full of guests, but still the service was fast and always with a smile. The food is excellent, the best I've had i Vietnam this far. The banana blossom salad is so tasty. I've had it at 2 other places in Da Nang but this was superior to them. If you are in Hoi An, just go to this restaurant, you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We dined at this resturant as it was recommended by Thien Phu optic we also having been seeing him for the last two years for our optical needs ( brilliant ) the food was traditional Vietnamese and amazing would highly recommend . The cost was also very cheap

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a letdown!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Don't eat here, highly over rated! This may be Hoi An's first restaurant but it will be the last place I would ever eat. Over priced and the staff's only interest is to have you pay your bill and leave. The food was was in imaginative and dull. Many, many more restaurants in Hoi An that are genuinely happy to have your business. Stay away from the Mermaid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“tourgroup place...basking in the glory of the past..no love here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have been to the Mermaid a few times and truly fail to see the hype. Maybe the very first restaurant 2 decades ago..nothing special now. The look of the menu is truly appalling as the entire menu is specked with food particles. But who needs to put any special effort in, when the tour groups are lining up to get in. We were still eating but were asked several times if we are finished with our meal. The tuna and the white fish were both the same fish and prepared the same way- without love . Hoi An has loads of little restaurants that do not have inflated prices but a lot more flavour, taste and are true culinary delights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing