We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go there!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

We just happened to walk into this restaurant. The staff was really friendly from the start, even though we had not booked a table. The restaurant was full of guests, but still the service was fast and always with a smile. The food is excellent, the best I've had i Vietnam this far. The banana blossom salad is so tasty. I've had it at 2 other places in Da Nang but this was superior to them. If you are in Hoi An, just go to this restaurant, you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    323
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We dined at this resturant as it was recommended by Thien Phu optic we also having been seeing him for the last two years for our optical needs ( brilliant ) the food was traditional Vietnamese and amazing would highly recommend . The cost was also very cheap

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SueTappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a letdown!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

Don't eat here, highly over rated! This may be Hoi An's first restaurant but it will be the last place I would ever eat. Over priced and the staff's only interest is to have you pay your bill and leave. The food was was in imaginative and dull. Many, many more restaurants in Hoi An that are genuinely happy to have your business. Stay away from the Mermaid!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“tourgroup place...basking in the glory of the past..no love here”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

I have been to the Mermaid a few times and truly fail to see the hype. Maybe the very first restaurant 2 decades ago..nothing special now. The look of the menu is truly appalling as the entire menu is specked with food particles. But who needs to put any special effort in, when the tour groups are lining up to get in. We were still eating but were asked several times if we are finished with our meal. The tuna and the white fish were both the same fish and prepared the same way- without love . Hoi An has loads of little restaurants that do not have inflated prices but a lot more flavour, taste and are true culinary delights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Crapfoodbites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, pushy service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Food was very good. We ordered starters and told the waitress we would order more after we had eaten them. She was quite pushy and asked five times if we were ready to order more food. We were still eating the starters at that point. The restaurant is small and popular and I understand that they can't have people sitting around for ages not eating, however they don't need to be so pushy. It's a shame because the food is very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank clairemynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing