We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
ross-on-wye, england
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

They managed to squeeze us in without a booking but only because it was relatively late for Hoi An and people were just leaving. Very bustly little restaurant with tables close together, but terrific service. We had prawns cooked in a cocunut - it was absolutely delicious. We had just had a stressful time at the tailors and I was definitely in need of a drink. I was surprised at the great quality of the wines they had on offer too. A good experience all around.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank hollysmum_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    322
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

Just off the main old town market place it's a great little street side restaurant. The food was great, service ok and setting ok. It's worthwhile ignoring decor and enjoying amazing food!

Helpful?
1 Thank gemiliawwhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briar Hill
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good food indeed”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Crispy spring rolls, very good
Chicken with chili and lemon grass, delicious
Spicy stewed beef in claypot, excellent.
Overall an unassuming place full of foreigners. Staff were great and food was delivered quickly and how we ordered.
Drinks are very well priced (as it is everywhere in Vietnam).
My wife loved the place and we would eat there again, but there are so many places in Hoi An it's unlikely that will happen.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had pho here . Quite good . The spring rolls were decent. prices faily reasonable. Near the Phuong Nam or BeBe tailors.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jolinpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“GREAT!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Mermaid was recommended by Lonely Planet and we have decided to try it. We were not very enthusiastic at first as it was full of foreigners, - not a good sign for us. But the menu was original and we did not resist to our curiosity. It was totally worth it!
Not only the atmosphere was nice and cosy and the service délicate and professional. The food was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! The seafood hotpot, the grilled tofu with tomato and the pork stuffed squid were amazing. It was just one of those meals when you eat carefully, afraid to finish your dish too fast. The food is super fresh, very well presented and perfectly seasonned. The waiters speak english so I could even ask for a recepee of the stuffed squid (although I doubt I will be able to find such great fresh products back home).
Moreover, the place has a history, it is very pleasent to learn about who, how and why cooks for you.
It was above our backpacker budget (60-110 000 D) but we did not regret it at all.
We definitely recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PopsEtVince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing