We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So yummy!”
Review of The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant - CLOSED

The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So yummy!”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Great find in Hoi An! Had the coconut prawns that are served in a coconut ... Nice touch! Well worth a try for diner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jazze84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,098 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    322
    93
    23
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great local food in relaxed local resto”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Best restaurant we tried in Hoi An. All local specialties on the menu. Especially recommend the BBQ squid and curry cooked in a coconut. Staff super relaxed and friendly. Decor is simple, no aircon but clean and pleasant. And so reasonably priced. Wish we'd had the chance to go more than once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank waiwaikai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great food, and so cheap!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

By chance we found this lovely little restaurant and managed to get a table without a booking. Ordered stir fry beef with rice noodles and egg fried rice, absolutely delicious, possible the best meal I’ve had in Vietnam so far. A couple of fresh juices and all for about $7 AUD. Loved it!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leonek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had high expectation when seating at this cosy restaurant and it turned out to be so good that we came back the next day! The staff was nice and deliver a good service, the food menu is a book in itself and interesting to read, the cocktails they offer are also nice ( considering we are in Vietnam,,,). I recommend the banana flower salad and the shrimps with pork.
We sat down outside, away from the main room, next to the kitchen, and it offers a quiet and relax place for a couple without missing on atmosphere as you can watch people passing by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“White Rose & Grilled Chicken !”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I went to this restaurant with our tour - Intrepid Tour Vietnam, our host had already taken us to many good restaurants on our trip from North heading South so I didnt expect this to be any different, and it wasn't. Don't let the small, simple - almost 'diner-ish' setting fool you. My first meal I had little appetite but was intrigued by the 'White Rose' which hadnt appeared on any other menus this far south of Hanoi. It was delish! Another woman on our group had the grilled chicken with rice. This sounded simple, i tried a piece and fell inlove with the simple flavours! after trying it i vowed to go back there before we left. I went back to the mermaid for lunch on our second to last day to order an entree of white rose then a main of Grilled Chicken with rice and I was not disappointed, devine simple Vietnamese food and very cheap prices. The service similar to most restaurants, not outstanding, but I wasnt there for the service! Well recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SGTurnbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid (Nhu Y) Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing