We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious dinner”
Review of Miss Ly Cafe

Miss Ly Cafe
Ranked #64 of 777 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
314 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Based on TA reviews Miss Ly Cafeteria was our first dinner in Hoi An. Small busy place with a lot of charm and views of the street. I tried the local dish, Cao Lau and loved it. For dessert, my husband had some kind of deep fried banana (yum). Everything seemed so fresh and full of flavor. Dinner for two with a few beers came to USD $14. For Ms. Ly the TA Certificate of Excellence is well deserved.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,256
    927
    228
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best combination of good food and value in Hoi An”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have lived in Hoi An for the past couple of years. Miss Ly's is the ONLY place we take our visiting friends for dinner. The food is fresh, clean, authentic and exceptionally well-prepared. Ly is in the kitchen every day ensuring that there is never a lapse in quality. Her ingredients are carefully selected and she always hand-tailors the food to suit the individual chili preferences of our guests, even preparing special off-the-menu dishes when requested. Her husband Nathan, a native New Yorker, runs the front-of-house and the staff are all friendly and attentive. Prices are fair, the wine list is well-chosen, the food is excellent...what more could anyone want?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

The service here is great, but it is very busy so get there early. Good menu and great tasting food well priced. Well worth having a feed here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kintomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Desserts”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The desserts were amazing! My family enjoy sweets and after a day out we stopped for afternoon tea. Just lovely and too hard to choose what to have. We sat by the window and had fun watching all the fun outside.

Helpful?
Thank kimsaid62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food, caring staff”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here on Dec. 26th, and had the steamed shrimp as a starter, and the noodles with fried pork for the main course. The noodles were supposed to be fried, which I was not too happy about (I find fried foods in Hoi An are greasier than in HCMC) but to my pleasant surprise, they turned out to be cooked instead, and were delicious.

Both dishes were fantastic, you could taste the freshness explode in your mouth, and melt into a sensarional palate of taste.

Staff were great, and concerned the food I ordered (very spicy please) would be too spicy. They even came with a taster to make sure my sense of 'spicy' matched theirs.

Helpful?
Thank JoelAndoetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Ly Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Miss Ly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing