We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum”
Review of Citronella Cafe

Citronella Cafe
Ranked #235 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Yum”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise! In a spot that gets so much traffic that it could get away with being mediocre, instead, yum! Great food swift service and a top people-watching spot to boot. Recommended!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cj_Do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    95
    38
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This little cafe can be found just over the Japanese Covered Bridge and was a welcome respite from walking in the heat.

The milkshakes were a hit with the kids, the food was excellent - fresh and fabulous and service was friendly and quick.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fabb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We were served quickly, I ordered something not in the menu - mango salad - and they gladly prepared it for me. It was fresh and delicious and really tasty. Fresh rolls similarly fantastic. Clean, pleasant surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cash66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Although the previous review had a bad experience with the chocolate, the coconut, mango and especially the coffee are brilliant - quite obviously home made (a little crunchy in parts!) but the flavours are the real deal - the coffee is made with local coffee and is wonderful! Try it - it's as far from the mass produced pap as you can get.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
468 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,659 helpful votes
“Another trap, but good service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I have hrs been there, left 30 minutes ago. To be clear, I order only a chocolate shake which was suppose to have ice cream in it.
It taste as chocolate, mixed with ice and didn't taste any good (my reference expectations could be something similar of what you could get in Starbucks, as this place they well advertise the home made icecream).
I have then a talk with some very kind waitress, that tried their best to fix the situation. I asked if I could see the ice cream used, and then I understood by seen it, that maybe was really home made, but it frost and defrost a few times... Something you don't do with food.. I asked then to speak with the owner, who revert to the weitress that he was too busy (in an empty restaurant). This is my worst review in 3 years.
Again, the staff was good, the thing I tried not at all and maybe even not allowed to sell in general food standard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Elmunyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citronella Cafe also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Citronella Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing