We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Hoang Trinh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hoang Trinh Hotel
Ranked #26 of 299 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Room was very clean with a newish bathroom ie. new tiles/bath tub and both of good size. Daily room service and they did a good job. Location was excellent for us, within a few minutes walking distance to the Old Town. For breakfast, you could chose from their breakfast menu. Good food although rather oily for the few mornings that we chose various styles of omelette. Staff are nice and courteous.

An earlier reviewer mentioned being charged for bottled water in the fridge - well actually they are not free. The hotel charges 8000VND for a big bottle and it is a very good price because most of the shops are selling the same for 10,000VND per bottle. In fact, we bought most of our drinking water from the hotel.

Perhaps I would suggest the hotel to put a price list in the fridge. There is a beverage price list in the drawer of the dressing table but I noticed it is outdated.

The hotel also assisted us with our tour to Myson (USD10 per pax) and train tickets to Hue (USD7 per pax).

Overall we had a very pleasant stay in Hoang Trinh.

Stayed in a double room for 3 nights, end of July 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 949 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Rooms are really nicely decorated, clean, spacious and well appointed. While the bathroom was a little basic it was everything we needed. What really makes the place is the staff, they're really welcoming, friendly, always have a little treat ready for you when you get in from a hot day's walking. On our final day we weren't feeling great, and with an evening bus they were even kind enough to let us sleep a couple of hours in an empty room, with no charge.

Can't fault the location, suffered none of the noise suggested by other reviews. Only downside for us was extensive renovation work happening in many rooms, which was very noisy during the day, however that is clearly a temporary thing. And will only make the stay better in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat_Nicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our room's a/c and wifi did not work, nor did the electricity in the morning, making for an overall hot and miserable stay. As well, upon check out we were charged more than we were quoted when we checked in. They even charged us for the bottled water in the fridge. Make sure you get a receipt when you check in.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank edge32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very rarely will I unequivocally recommend a place to stay or an activity with a hands-down, no holds barred 100% yes, but here is the exception. Please bear with my long winded review, and resist the temptation to browse and skip.

Where to begin? Oh yes, our bus was 4 hours late. Come to find out the hotel had sent 2 different cars at two different times to check on the status of the bus, and we were still met right at the address we gave them; two minutes after we arrived. We were welcomed with fresh macaroons and green tea as we settled in and waited for our room.

The room was 104, on the bottom floor, which means it was in fact less spectacular than the rest, but nevertheless was leaps and bounds above any other hotel we have stayed at in our entire trip.

First night, there was a knock on the door. The hostess of the hotel was inviting us to a Vietnamese feast on the patio, offered by her, completely complimentary, with so much food and unlimited beer and soft drinks. It was incredible.

We booked our bus tickets at the front desk, and we have since become very savvy withi prices and found that the front desk offered the same price as the least expensive travel agent in town: to Ninh Binh for $18.

We arrived after a day of sightseeing and were met with fresh pineapple delivered to our room.

Breakfast is complimentary and the options are plenty, about 25 to choose from. We has omelettes and sandwiches, and they were absolutely delightful! The white coffee is the best I have had ever. I have worked for small town and international coffee brands and roasters, and this was the smoothest and most delicious cup I have ever had, clearly arabica, and absolutely fresh.

I absolutely cannot find a single flaw in the service, the building, the food or the employees. I have been trained in high-net worth and VIP client hospitality (think Trump, Ritz-Carlton, TKRG) and this little hotel is firing on all cylinders. They recognize you by name or room number, rotate your sandals on the front door step, and anticipate your needs in a way I have never experienced at this price level.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

During our stay in Vietnam we have visited a lot of hotels and guesthouses but this one was the best. It had more than you would expect - the rooms very spacious, with bathrooms. You could find four pair of slippers provided, a cattle with glasses and vietnamese tea at your disposal.Also there was hair dryer, clean towels every day, brushes, comsetics and even bath robe! It was very clean. Of course the air conditioning was in all the rooms. The breakfast - no limits, you can eat as much as you can in the price of the room. From fresh omellletes with various fillings to freash fruit and juices..the best I ever had! I would recommend this place for stay without any hesitation!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hoang Tring hotel was definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our trip in Vietnam.

Rooms were exceptionally clean and really well equipped (bathroom, hot water, cosmetics, hair-dryer, TV+SAT and more) - something we didn't expect for that price.

The hotel staff service is outstanding - very friendly and helpful. We were offered free pickup from the bus stations, welcome drink. We could leave our bags for entire day after checking out, and even could take a shower before moving on!

The room rate includes delicious breakfast, fresh fruit and free tea or coffee during the day.

All in all, it was a perfect choice for really reasonable price!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kspr84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights, in 2 different rooms.
The ensuite room on the ground floor is so chintzy and gloomy-amazingly so! Its cluttered kind of like a store room-with no real light. Ooh and the shower is cold. After a night in there I asked to move to another upstairs room.
Upstairs was like a whole other world! I had a room with 2 windows (lots of light and neat views to the mountains), a hot shower AND no chintzy clutter!!
The staff here are all really friendly and helpful. Theres free internet and yummy ginger tea available all the time. Theres also a small restaurant and balcony on the top floor.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#57 of 167 in Hoi An
1,235 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#50 of 167 in Hoi An
1,583 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#33 of 299 in Hoi An
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoi An NGO Homestay
Hoi An NGO Homestay
#10 of 299 in Hoi An
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Clouds Homestay
Blue Clouds Homestay
#4 of 299 in Hoi An
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Trinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Trinh Hotel

Address: 45 Le Quy Don Hoi An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 299 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range: $24 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Trinh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International airport 30 km Da Nang, Hoi An Hotel is located in the position extensively with many trees in the heart of the old town. This is the ideal place for visitors to Hoi An. You can easily visit many cultural heritages in the world, the Cham temples at My Son and Hue trying to do in the surrounding area Hotel with 16 rooms meeting international standards, restaurant, bar, garden cafe, outdoor swimming pool, conference rooms, work, tennis court, badminton court, gym physical, Zen spa, rooms beauty salon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA and Orbitz so you can book your Hoang Trinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing