We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Vietnam”
Review of Hoang Trinh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hoang Trinh Hotel
Ranked #26 of 275 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best in Vietnam”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

By far, one of our favourites in Vietnam.
Had a large room on second/third floor with balcony - clean, AC, hot water, tea/coffee and TV in room as well as kimonos and slippers! - couldn't as for much more.
Quiet and safe location and very close to town.
What makes this place stand out is the service, Madam An and her team really make your stay great - wonderful breakfasts in the morning (all you can eat & anything you like), smoothies after a long day, help with tours/hiring motorbikes/laundry - the list goes on!
Nothing was too much for them, even helped me when tailoring lady came to hotel to make some last minute alterations to things I had made.
All spoke excellent english.
We even received a small gift each when we left.
This is excellent value for money and recommend staying here when you visit Hoi An.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SM82_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    200
    36
    23
    12
See reviews for
75
416
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. First night we were downstairs which was an average room but we got moved upstairs for the next few nights and it was much nicer. Good breakfast included.

Room Tip: Upstairs is much nicer rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dowzy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place is nice, but we had a big problem with the room we were given. It was on the 2nd floor, and there wasn't a window except overlooking a closed in alley. It was damp, dank, and flourescent.
We were severely dissappointed with it, and dreading coming back to our room at night. Our clothes and bedding always felt damp.

We took an overnight trip to Hue, and on our return requested a room with a window. We were given a MUCH BETTER room with a window and balcony on the third floor. It was wonderful!

Besides the room, the staff is very friendly. They helped us book a last minute trip to Hue, called cabs, and were accomodating with advice.
The breakfast is good and included with the price.

The location is a next to a quiet temple, within walking distance to the main shopping area.

I would stay here again, only if I could get a room with a window.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staycray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

I am sorry but I don t agree with all the comments, for sure the staff is very nice, helpful but I really didn t like my room, on the first floor, It was smelly, dark, the window had a view on the hallway were they store the hotel garbage. I tried to change room but they were full as I think they sure have nicer rooms, I just got the worse one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CicineM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We were met with smiles and tea with cake! The tone was set for 3 wonderfull days.

The room was nice, and towel swans on the bed made it seem like a 5 star hotel. The beds are great and the room spotless. Good TV with CNN, BBC, HBO, Star Moveis and a few sportschannels. Even Fox Footy could we see.

The room was right next to the lobby, but this is a VERY quiet hotel. Not a sound after 10 pm. The room also had a fridge and ketl (only 3-in-1 coffee).

The breakfast is to die for. Choose anything from the menu yoiu like, and as much you wish. The juice is freshly pressed -. not from a carton. You are also served a fresh fruitplatter. When we got home from sightseeing, we sere served a smoothie. IF you are lucky, you get a mango one - it is a dream. One afternoon, we were also served cookies and tea. We allmost felt shamefull to receive so much.

The staff is the most kind you could dream off. The location is perfect - just 5 minutes walk from the covered bridge.

Only small issue is, that the duvet is just a thin sheat, and that you are not given a full set of towels, and that Wifi was a bit slow. The are computers at the hotel and it is possible to print here.

The hotel was full 2 of the 3 day we were there so book well in advance. the same goes for the more popular restaurants.

For 25 USD, this must be the best value pr. dollar spent hotel in Vietnam...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnClair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed 5 nights here, paid $22 per night. For the (very good) features of this hotel, read the other reviews. But to give a little more help, I`ll add: it`s 5 minutes` walk to the ticket booth for the Old City (now 90,000 VND entry); 2 free computers in the lobby; good choice of breakfast options (also free); good sized bathroom with good sized bathtub.

The hotel books train tickets (e.g. SE7 night sleeper Danang - Nha Trang, leaves at 10 pm arrives 7.30am) for a reasonable 50,000 VND fee.

Hotel has 4 floors (no elevator) , 20 rooms, nice communal balcony on the 2nd & 3rd floor.

Rooms at the front of the hotel have a nice view of a Confucian temple & small grounds; the back of the hotel looks onto corrugated iron house roofs. See my Room Tips section for more info.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd or 4th floor, at the front (nice views) of the hotel (1st floor is the lobby - noisy at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamski926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights here recently and, while the people are the nicest in the world who really try hard to please, this is Vietnam and all that entails.
Had some initial confusion when we checked in. Arrived on an early a.m. bus and was met by their rep at the bus station who arranged our transport to the hotel. They had our reservation but our room ($20/night) was still occupied by the previous night's guest, which we completely expected. Arranged to leave our bags and go walk the old town for several hours and return to complete check-in later. However when we came back the room we booked was now occupied by someone else but they had moved us to a more expensive room, which was actually nicer than the one we booked. It was fine with us if they moved us to accommodate other guests needs but we weren't going to pay a higher rate. Got that worked out finally.
Was up most of the night by a water pump that clicked off and on every few seconds...absolutely drove us crazy. When I met them at 6 a.m. the next morning after a night of no sleep they were very apologetic; seems the night staff were supposed to turn the pump off every night and had forgotten to that night. Oops but then again, this is Vietnam.
Breakfast was a disappointment. Tables were not cleaned between dinners and the service was very very slow; doesn't help that they have to haul everything up 3 flights of stairs from the kitchen to the 3rd floor dining balcony. Coffee came at the end of the meal instead of the beginning. Greasiest eggs I've ever had in my life,
I still recommend the Hoang Trinh Hotel to everyone I meet going to Hoi An. Just keep in mind this is Vietnam (which means a lower standard of service no matter how much they mean to please) and snafus will definitely happen...unfortunately this prevents me from giving Hoang Trinh the highest rating possible.

Room Tip: Make sure they turn off the water pump at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#47 of 156 in Hoi An
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel Villa & Spa
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 156 in Hoi An
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#60 of 156 in Hoi An
873 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#28 of 275 in Hoi An
222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Villa Hoian
Nova Villa Hoian
#29 of 275 in Hoi An
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Trinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Trinh Hotel

Property: Hoang Trinh Hotel
Address: 45 Le Quy Don Hoi An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 275 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Trinh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International airport 30 km Da Nang, Hoi An Hotel is located in the position extensively with many trees in the heart of the old town. This is the ideal place for visitors to Hoi An. You can easily visit many cultural heritages in the world, the Cham temples at My Son and Hue trying to do in the surrounding area Hotel with 16 rooms meeting international standards, restaurant, bar, garden cafe, outdoor swimming pool, conference rooms, work, tennis court, badminton court, gym physical, Zen spa, rooms beauty salon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hoang Trinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing