We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great day!”

Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.00*
and up
Hoi An Culinary Tour and Cooking Class with River Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A great day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

This was one of the highlights of the most amazing holiday. Fun, fun, fun and very informative. You don't have to be a cooking bore to enjoy the day. You get to eat your own food and enjoy the knowledge and hospitality of the lovely Vietnamese people.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WendyHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    195
    50
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent cooking class, river cruise and market tour. Our guide, An, was terrific. Well worth it. They accommodate vegetarian requests which is great.

Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peacham, Vermont
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent! Worth the splurge.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I are backpacking through Asia and on a tight budget, but we wanted to take a cooking class in Hoi An. After reading the reviews of Red Bridge we splurged on the deluxe full-day cooking class. IT IS WORTH IT! It was raining the whole day that we were there, but it didn't dampen our good time. In addition to cooking everything basically from scratch (homemade noodles!) you get free beverages all day (beer, wine, soft drinks, whatever), and you're in an intimate group. The head chef is great and very funny. Everything was delicious, and as residents of New York City we like to think we know a thing or two about good food. In sum, we had a great time and can't recommend this experience highly enough.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jillybjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I can make Vietnamese food now!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We took the full day course which includes a walk through an organic farm village, shopping at the local food market, cooking food (then eating our creations) and finally a boat trip. My wife and I love to cook, so adding a few more things to our repertoire is always a bonus. Our guide, who was also our teacher, took the time to explain what all the veggies were at the village and how they grow stuff there. He didn't spend much time in the market explaining what the veggies were there though, or how to pick the right stuff. Would have liked to know that stuff too, but we were running out of time I guess.

The cooking class was great fun. We had a really nice group, and the food that we made was basic, but delicious. It was fun to see how a Pho broth is made, and how to fold banana leaves correctly. We ended up buying a few kitchen utensils because they were so handy; like hand-held mandolins.

All in all, a great day out, and we hear, one of the best schools in town.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
130 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Overall I would definetly recommend the cooking school. Only reason that I only give 4 stars is that there was no drink included for the final lunch.

The market tour was very interesting, however the lady was talking very quickly (at least for me as a non-native english speaker). The boat trip on the way back was amazing, they went slower than on the way there and stopped to see the local fishers throwing their nets.
The cooking itself was fun and i guess as much hands-on as you can expect from a halfday cooking class. At the end there was plenty of food served which was delicious.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School also viewed

 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Red Bridge Restaurant and Cooking School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing