We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and spacious room”
Review of An Hoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
An Hoi Hotel
Ranked #118 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Seoul, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice location and spacious room”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The rooms were spacious, as well as the bathroom. The beds were comfortable and relatively clean (there were some clear stains on my friend's blanket).

The breakfast was good, nothing special, but a bit slow if you are in a rush.

Free water.

We were on the bottom floor, and our window went to nowhere, and did not have a gate or anything on it to prevent someone from easily coming inside.

The staff was a bit pushy.

Room Tip: The bottom floor rooms are a bit dark due to buildings on the sides not allowing the sun in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    137
    92
    32
    20
See reviews for
36
137
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was my favourite in Vietnam during a 3 week holiday there. The staff were great, friendly and helpful without being pushy in any way. Room was spacious, nice pool, good breakfast and location was perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and had plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights and thought it one of the best places I've stayed.
The room was comfortable and clean, bathroom a good size with a good hot shower & clean smelling towels. My only issue was the window opening onto the side door of the next house, b/c the window is without glass I had to listen to their tv, this obviously was only an issue for that specific room.
The weather wasn't great so I didn't use the pool.
Breakfast is included and was of a reasonable quality, although the cheese on the omelette was clearly a cheese slice.
The service was what really stood out, a HUGE thanks to Men (hopefully I've spelled that right!), he was really helpful and always friendly, I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would return to it if I'm ever back in Hoi An.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrlKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The rooms were ok, however there was a lot of noise during the day from one of the windows which didnt seem to close properly. The shower was also a bit difficult to use because the head was in the middle of the bathtub but otherwise no complaints.
Good location, walking distance from Old Town, food, bars etc.
The staff were helpful and provided maps. Bicycle hire was 1USD a day. We booked a car through the hotel to take us to the Marble Mountains and then to the airport on our last day, which ended up being cheaper then the metered taxi from the airport to the hotel, so book with the hotel in advance if you need transport because we think the airport taxi took us on a very long route to jack up the price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstin1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Wifi was fast but lossy, hot water wasnt working and it took multiple times to ask to have someone take a look, however the actual room itself looked nice and the hotel was in a good location.
Biggest issue i had was with particular a staff member constantly pestering us to go to their tailor or have breakfast in the hotel. She was relentless about it and wouldnt drop it, it made the stay much less pleasant. Staff mentioning recommendations or tours through hotel is completely fine, but doing it every single time we came through became annoying.
Also, letting a couple people hang around and try to pester us to buy motorbikes while we are in the hotel is incredibly inappropriate and shouldnt be allowed.
Also, got into a slight tiff with staff as they insisted we only gave them one passport. We gave them both and after we persisted they realised we were correct.
There were a couple other minor gripes, I wouldnt stay here again purely due to the staff. We have stayed in much better places in Vietnam at much better prices.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank abeink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Emilia Romagna
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We choose to book a room in this hotel because it was suggested by the lonely planet and it is cheap. But it is not like the description found in the guide. The rooms are quite nice but our door couln't be locked, everytime we have a shower the bathroom's floor get all wet, few lights does not work.

The staff is friendly but seems they have to sell you something everytime you ask for information: very old bycicle you can rent costs 1$ per day...tickets from hoi an to hue costs 10$ and we cannot stand it. We spend much less (140000dong) for longer trips by bus (Da Lat -Kon Tum)...each of the guy at the reception has his/her own 'favourite' shop with tailor made cloths. They want you to go there as they get money for every new client.
But they speak english and give you all the information you need to explore the surroundings as well.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank BeAgoodNoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed three nights at An Hoi hotel after reading about the hotel in Lonely Planet. The hotel is situated away from the noisiest bars, so you should be able to sleep well. We did two of the nights. The first night the people in the room beside us had an after-party at 4am, and we noticed how thin the walls were.

The man in the reception was friendly when we arrived and he have us some tips about Hoi An, and what to do. The woman working in the reception didn't seem very interested in us when we tried to book train tickets and it would have been easier (and more professional) if the reception had prices and information about tickets (since they claim to sell tickets), instead of just writing everything down with a pen on a piece of paper, and waiting impatiently for us to make a decision on which tickets to book...

One thing about this piece of paper, that we noticed later on: this piece of paper that we received with notes on train fares was written on the back of a booking confirmation fax from booking.com. On this piece of paper was the name, address, credit card number and CVC number of a hotel guest who I presume had booked a room. This piece of paper could easily have fallen into the wrong hands, so we decided to rip it in small pieces and discard it. This is pretty scary and should not happen at a hotel (we didn't notice this until we checked out, otherwise we would have told them directly).

About bike rental: we rented two bikes (USD 1 per bike) for one day, and the bikes were fine. We biked to the beach, spent the day there and back again. We arrived at the hotel around 6pm, so the night/evening guy was working in the reception. We told him that we left the bikes inside their driveway, with the keys in the locks. (This is where we picked up the bikes in the first place). At the time we returned the bikes, they were also parking cars in this driveway, and there were nobody else we could talk to. The receptionist said "OK, no problem" when we told him that we left our bikes there, unlocked. He then asked which room we stayed at and handed us our key. (The hotel may comment on this, but we returned the bikes to where we picked them up. And yes, we told the receptionist that we placed them there unlocked, with the keys in the locks.)

The next morning (the morning we were leaving Hoi An), the day receptionists told us that they only could find one bike. They were missing one bike, and indirectly accused us of not returning it (or placing it outside in the street). This is when we started to get annoyed. If you offer bike rental out to guests, you should also have proper routines of how to deliver them. We didn't receive any instructions of what to do with the bikes or who to talk to when we returned them, so naturally we placed the bikes where we received them (in a protected driveway, far from the street)

In the discussion that followed they also asked us who we talked to last night, and what his name was. I responded that it was difficult for me to know the name of the hotel's employee who works evenings/nights, and that this was something they should know about. I still don't know if the bike was actually missing or not.

About the A/C: The room we had was with A/C, but somehow the power was always cut (there is a fuse box with a fuse for each room on the ground floor, marked with the room number). Each day we had to manually go down and turn the power back on. I guess they do this to save power, but when they have A/C included in the room rate, maybe the A/C's power should be turned on/off with the help of the room key inside the room instead.

Room Tip: Choose 2nd floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#64 of 155 in Hoi An
675 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#140 of 155 in Hoi An
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#31 of 155 in Hoi An
758 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Hoian Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Hoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Hoi Hotel

Property: An Hoi Hotel
Address: 69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Minh An Ward, Hoi An, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 155 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — An Hoi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the 16th and 17th centuries, Hoi An old town was famous known one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia and was the home of Western businessmen & traders. And a small charming An Hoi islet raised by the silt by the Thu Bon River appeared. This islet combines the peaceful life with superb natural environment in harmony. Although, there are many social economic developments, Hoi An Old Town as well as An Hoi Islet still retains the ancient cultural Chinese- Japanese features with tile-roofed houses, narrow streets, alluring picturesque Hoai river. The An Hoi hotel is in the center of Hoi An ancient city, just 02 minutes from An Hoi Hotel, you can approach along Thu Bon River and visit the World Heritage Site, the unique cultural symbol of Hoi An Old town named Japanese Covered Bridge (Chua Cau). Only 50m to Nguyen Hoang night market and Food market is 100m. The tourist can shopping, buy some souvenir and can enjoy the traditional food of Hoi An. Which "An Hoi hotel" is the nearest place to come there. How can you get the nearest stay to visit Hoi An old town? Please come and stay with An Hoi hotel, you can experience the romantic moment in the sparkling & fanciful light in the full moon lit nights on the restaurant's balcony overlooking the Hoai river. Particularly, you enjoy the floating lanterns down on the Hoai River in the non- fluorescent lights, non-motorbike streets on the 14th day of each lunar month. This is the ideal place to gaze at many traditional or modern festivals in nationwide or worldwide stature. You can enjoy the sunrise in the morning and gentle breezing wind at noon from Thu Bon lower section. Combining with the daily local people activities, you can take the boat trip on Hoai River or a visiting tour in and around Hoi An Ancient Town such as Tra Que Vegetable Village, Fishing Tour, Hoi An City tour as well as My Son Holly Land.... The An Hoi Hotel with modern furniture facilities and equipments, spacious and furnished in 39 Vietnamese style rooms with a colonial house outlook, reasonable prices as well as especially enthusiastic, trained staffs will meet all your demands. We are honor to be served. The front side of hotel have daily activity " Walking and Cycling Street" , forbidden using motobike and car... The tourist go to our hotel by motobike or car can go the back side of hotel ( 26 La Hoi street) to be welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your An Hoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing