We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idiosyncratic rooms”
Review of Hotel Zarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zarina
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Samarkand
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I came in a tour and we all had completely different rooms. I started off in a fairly normal international standard room but an older couple on the tour asked to swap and I found myself in a single-bed room with TV with a spiral staircase leading up to a large twin-bed room upstairs. Full of character. The TV didn't work properly but it didn't matter as the room was fun. Some others in our tour got a suite including lounge and huge bedroom while others had unexceptional rooms. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: See my comments above. All kinds of rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank changemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 74 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is in the best location, just a couple of minutes' walk from the main Registan Square. It is a family-run guesthouse, very nice people, with traditional-style dining room and divans in the courtyard.. My room was fine, with a balcony overlooking the courtyard. However, some of our small group were put in the "annexe", just across a small lane, where the rooms were rather dreary, with no outlook.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

1. The best thing about this place is its location. It's two minutes walk from the registan and at evening you can easily get to the nice fountain and long boulevard in a minute walk.

2. The room I got was big and nicely decorated as most uzbekistans mid range hotels, except for:
A. Bad bathroom, only warm no hot water. Poor sink and old toilet.
B. air conditioner unable to adjust to a specific temp. Thus it's either turned either on or off.
C. No inside room wi fi, though in the lobby garden works fine.

3. Nice breakfast with a buffet unlike all other places in the country.

4. I would recommend trying to find another hotel in the same street but I haven't seen one walking here so maybe the location wins it all, cause its really great.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank nimigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights, and had a twin room. The room was very small, and seeing the tears in the walls and the bathroom, it looked like there is barely maintenance in this hotel. There was a television which probably is museum-worthy. The hotel is very near the registan, but is located itself in a somewhat ugly backstreet. We found some snack joints nearby, but no restaurants, these were all 3 kilometers away. So in the evening you are more or less confined to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here on a group tour. The hotel is well-located, about five minutes walk from the Registan. The rooms are of varying sizes and amenities (hint: if you don't like your room, ask if any others are open), but the owners are friendly and will help out. I came down with Tamerlane's revenge one night and the staff were super helpful, going to get rehydration salts at the pharmacy and bringing me bland rice to try to get something in my stomach while I was on the mend. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khowaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this family-run hotel as part of a tour group, so I can’t comment on price/value. Our room (16) was tiny (although some of the other people said they had larger rooms). There was barely enough room for twin beds, a desk and chair and a small wardrobe with no hangers. The bathroom had a shower with low water pressure and no curtain. Hot water was OK. The beds were quite firm; OK for us but some people may not like them. I don’t know what my pillow was stuffed with, but it was heavy and dense and too high for my head. The room was clean and had air conditioning and wifi (some of our party said they had to go to the courtyard or lobby to get reception). There is a nice courtyard where you can sit and relax. The main advantage to this hotel is that it’s right in the center of town and convenient to Registan Square, etc. The hotel is located on an unpaved street behind commercial buildings and a Soviet-era apartment block, but the area seems to be safe. Several restaurants are nearby, as well as shops selling beer and water. Breakfast was fairly minimal with bread, jam, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you check in as the size and quality varies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in the centre of town near to all places of interest, hidden at back of other buildings which meant it was a quiet location. Lovely views of distant snow clad mountains. Nice local paintings on the walls, one of which I tried to buy but no go. Family run and all pleasant and welcoming. Stayed two pleasant nights here on a group tour, was content with my large bedroom. The TV had more than 600 channels but only a few channels able to watch. Buffet breakfast pleasant and simple. Did fill up with wealthy over-weight women on a shopping spree in Samarkand.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarkand hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
156 reviews
0 mi away
Furkat Hotel
Furkat Hotel
#23 of 35 in Samarkand
60 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Grand Samarkand
Hotel Grand Samarkand
#17 of 35 in Samarkand
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Royal Palace Hotel
Royal Palace Hotel
#26 of 35 in Samarkand
32 reviews
0 mi away
Ideal Hotel
Ideal Hotel
#7 of 35 in Samarkand
108 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Billuri Sitora
Hotel Billuri Sitora
#21 of 35 in Samarkand
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarina

Address: Umarova Str. 4, Samarkand 140164, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 35 Hotels in Samarkand
Price Range: $28 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zarina 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Zarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarina Hotel Samarkand
Hotel Zarina Samarkand, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing