We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, pleasant family run hotel”
Review of Hotel Zarina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Zarina
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Samarkand
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Small, pleasant family run hotel”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed here on a group tour. The hotel is well-located, about five minutes walk from the Registan. The rooms are of varying sizes and amenities (hint: if you don't like your room, ask if any others are open), but the owners are friendly and will help out. I came down with Tamerlane's revenge one night and the staff were super helpful, going to get rehydration salts at the pharmacy and bringing me bland rice to try to get something in my stomach while I was on the mend. I'd definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khowaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    21
    18
    16
    5
See reviews for
7
13
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at this family-run hotel as part of a tour group, so I can’t comment on price/value. Our room (16) was tiny (although some of the other people said they had larger rooms). There was barely enough room for twin beds, a desk and chair and a small wardrobe with no hangers. The bathroom had a shower with low water pressure and no curtain. Hot water was OK. The beds were quite firm; OK for us but some people may not like them. I don’t know what my pillow was stuffed with, but it was heavy and dense and too high for my head. The room was clean and had air conditioning and wifi (some of our party said they had to go to the courtyard or lobby to get reception). There is a nice courtyard where you can sit and relax. The main advantage to this hotel is that it’s right in the center of town and convenient to Registan Square, etc. The hotel is located on an unpaved street behind commercial buildings and a Soviet-era apartment block, but the area seems to be safe. Several restaurants are nearby, as well as shops selling beer and water. Breakfast was fairly minimal with bread, jam, hardboiled eggs, juice, coffee and tea.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you check in as the size and quality varies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samarkand hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Right in the centre of town near to all places of interest, hidden at back of other buildings which meant it was a quiet location. Lovely views of distant snow clad mountains. Nice local paintings on the walls, one of which I tried to buy but no go. Family run and all pleasant and welcoming. Stayed two pleasant nights here on a group tour, was content with my large bedroom. The TV had more than 600 channels but only a few channels able to watch. Buffet breakfast pleasant and simple. Did fill up with wealthy over-weight women on a shopping spree in Samarkand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a nice place for a couple of days when you don't have to stick around in the hotel. All the main attractions are nearby, especially the Registon. The breakfast was okay, the staff is courteous, the rooms were generally clean. not much going by the way of in-house entertainment and we did not order any room service so cant comment on the quality of food. they have free wi-fi but it only works well in and around the reception area. overall an average to good place, depending on how picky you are during your travels!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theleftside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small no star hotel. Breakfast ok as is statt attitude and service. Rooms clean. Good location close to Registan Square. There are plenty of budget hotels in Tashkent and there is no good reason to choose this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forest-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hotel Zarina is an excellent hotel right in the center of Samarkand just opposite to the Registan. It is very clean and calm and the stuff is extremely friendly and helpful (especially Sanjar gave us very good recommendations, prices were really appropriate and the drivers he recommended were reliable and cautious). We enjoyed the 5 days there and would definitely choose Zarina again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramrod Key Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is located near many of the local sites to see. It is 1/2 block to a local restaurant Levi-Gor where you can get food and drink upstairs overlooking the main street. The hotel requires all patrons to remove their shoes when entering. They have wood floors and the hotel itself is very clean. It even has a small above pool that others and myself swam in. Breakfast is served downstairs and was included

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramrodfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarkand hotels
0.0 mi away
Furkat Hotel
Furkat Hotel
#22 of 36 in Samarkand
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 36 in Samarkand
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ideal Hotel
Ideal Hotel
#7 of 36 in Samarkand
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zilol Baxt
Zilol Baxt
#16 of 36 in Samarkand
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Latif
Hotel Latif
#18 of 36 in Samarkand
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Registon
Hotel Registon
#29 of 36 in Samarkand
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zarina

Property: Hotel Zarina
Address: Umarova Str. 4, Samarkand 140164, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Samarkand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Zarina 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zarina Hotel Samarkand
Hotel Zarina Samarkand, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing