We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't go wrong with this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Samarkand
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong with this hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable rooms. Free wifi in the hotel lobby and the rooms. Breakfast is ok. The roof top bar and the roof top pool are not worth visiting so don't count on those. The gym has the necessary basic equipment. Location is relatively far from most of the sights so you will need transport. In any case I would stay here again in the case of another visit.

Room Tip: be aware that some of the rooms have windows facing the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNKetting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    68
    36
    7
    1
See reviews for
13
41
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York UK
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a new,comfortable hotel but our first impressions were not particularly welcoming. We entered our room to see 2 notices- one informed us that a fine of 50 euros would be levied if guests did any personal washing in the room (washing will dry overnight in the bathroom!) and another itemising the damage cost of every single item in the room!

We decided to have dinner the first evening but it was a long drawn out process- the first course took over an hour to arrive and the main courses were either cold or lukewarm.There was only a party of about 12 people besides ourselves so would hate to think how long it would have taken had the hotel been full.Breakfasts were not particularly good or inspiring.

On subsequent evenings we ate out at 2 local restaurants - would recommend particularly the one which looks more like a cafe rather than the more formal one on the opposite side of the road.

Water was only supplied in the room on the first day of arrival. There is a charge for use of the swimming pool.

Our trip was organised by Avantour - would thoroughly recommend them.Please see my comments on the Tashkent Palace Hotel.

Room Tip: There is not a lift in the hotel so a first floor room could be advisable for some travellers. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishYorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed for 1 night. The hotel was fully booked so our room was on the 1st floor with windows opening to the inner courtyard. until the midnight there were guests in the courtyard so we had to close all the curtains to keep the privacy. So be careful with the 1 st floor rooms. Other than that the hotel and the service good

Room Tip: Be careful with the 1st floor rooms facing inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AYMKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A pleasant modern hotel in the old Russian Quarter close to a Russian Orthodox Church. From the hotel it is a long walk to the Registan mostly through various parks. Also interesting local walks around late 19th and early 20th C streets. Good sized bedrooms with excellent ensuite bathrooms. Very hard mattresses which are good for those with bad backs! Good copublic rooms. Internal courtyard in which to sit and read. Small pool and sitting out atrea on roof. Interesting view of grinding poverty behind Russian facades. First class breakfast with choice of hot and cold food.. Pleasant and attentive staff. A cut above other hotels visited in Uzbekhistan.

Room Tip: Avoid room s facing onto internal courtyard. Ask for room with external windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here two nights and specifically asked my tour operator for this hotel. Confusingly they have another hotel with the same name facing them on the other side of the street. You are greeted with very large chandeliers in reception and dining hall. Its a small carpeted three story building with no elevators but staff help with luggage. There is a large inner courtyard open to all three floors.
The room was very new and comfortable and still smelt like a furniture showroom. The TV package had each major language but mostly news channels. The bottled water was a fizzy type/sparkling water. Room carpeting was very comfortable. I did notice a beetle so not sure if this occurs more in warmer weather. Room was well heated in low season.
A block and half behind is a Russian Orthodox church, or the other way is the main shopping street. This is a very european and modern district not close to any historical sites. You can walk to Navoi Park and the Emir Statue. Nearby is also a larger Orthodox Cathedral, city museum, and Jewish history museum near the Hammam baths. Hotel staff may not know about these places so good to have your own local map. You can walk to the Registan if you have a good map but it will be at least a 40 min walk.
Breakfast buffet had many choices available, mostly western with breads, pastries, cakes. There is a convenience store at the end of the street but you have to go round the traffic barrier to cross the road. The city had a couple of blackouts due to construction work but the hotel was equipped with emergency lighting in rooms. Their is a roof terrace and pool on the top floor for summer months. Basement has a gym, sauna, and money exchange office.
I had a very comfortable stay here my two nites and will ask for this hotel again the next time I visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My husband and I spent four nights here and were charmed by the decor and staff. Our spotless 3rd floor room (there is no elevator) looked into the lovely tiled central courtyard, which served as a relaxing place to access wifi (when it worked) or have a diink after a day of sight seeing. The entire hotel is new and extraordinarily clean. The breakfast was the best we had while in Uzbekistan - varied and delicious. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The location is in a neighborhood with shops, small markets and restaurants - also a short walk from three churches! We were traveling independently but most of the guests were from French or German tours. Make sure you insist in a soft mattress pad or your bed will be a box spring mattress (they called it a "medical" mattress) and if you don't like caged birds, be forewarned that there are two caged songbirds in the courtyard. My husband felt compelled to release them but we were told they are a common feature in Uzbek homes. All-in-all, my favorite hotel in Uzbekistan.

Room Tip: Make sure you insist on a soft mattress and a courtyard view. Also, keep in mind there is no elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This new extension on the other side of the street from the original Hotel Grand Samarkand is a very affordable hotel at the rate of appr. 80 $ / night single. The rooms are large and well equipped with A/C and large flatscreen TV etc. Breakfast is better than average. Wi-Fi is FOC but works only in the reception area and works off/on..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarkand hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Platan
Platan
#2 of 35 in Samarkand
76 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Emir Han
Hotel Emir Han
#6 of 35 in Samarkand
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ideal Hotel
Ideal Hotel
#7 of 35 in Samarkand
101 reviews
1.0 mi away
L'Argamak
L'Argamak
#4 of 35 in Samarkand
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Samarkand
Hotel Grand Samarkand
#17 of 35 in Samarkand
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior

Property: Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior
Address: Bakhodir Yalangtush Str 31, Samarkand 140100, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Samarkand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing