We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing site to visit”
Review of Registan

Registan
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.00*
and up
1-Day Tour of Samarkand from Tashkent
Ranked #1 of 49 things to do in Samarkand
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The centerpiece of the city is one of the most important monuments of Islamic arts.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Amazing site to visit”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I kept coming back to the Registan to take photos from different angles and under different lighting. Just beware of the guards who will offer to accept bribes to climb a minaret. The price for the bribes varies wildly from $5 to $50. Each of the medressas in the Registan have a different facade and it feels awe inspiring to stand in the middle and view all three.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    757
    150
    21
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gobsmacked”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've seen many wonders, but the first sight of the Registan left me truly speechless! The sheer size of the structures, the wonderous tiling, breathtaking colour and stark architectural statement are simply overwhelming. This is not to be missed. If possible, take the Bullet Train - Afrosiab - from Tashkent (about 3.5hrs) to add to the experience.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Must see attraction”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just the approach to this incredible monument takes your breath away.

I am always annoyed when the entry price for locals and international guests has such a wide variation which is why I gave this 4 and not 5 stars. I was travelling with my girlfriend and her mother and they singled me out to pay 10 times what they paid. I somewhat understand but don't agree with it.

Once I was over this, I was able to enjoy the incredible architecture and sunning detail.Some of my best photos of Uzbekistan were from here and is a must see on any expedition through the country.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Surreal”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

So far away from home, but it was worth the trip. It felt like I was in ancient times, and I became nostalgic thinking of how it was in those years....It was totally different from where I came from, the culture, the structure, it is surreal, awesome...I came to realize that no matter which part of the world we hailed from, we're still one mankind, our past, our present and our future are intertwined. I truly believe you should put this place, and this city of Samarkand, in your bucket list. Someday, I promise myself, I will go back.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineYell0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Silk Road Attraction”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

The Registan is one of Uzbekistan's greatest attractions. This complex of three Madrassahs has been fully restored to its original splendour. The Registan comprises a range towers, domes, gateways and walls. There is one entry fee for the complex. Inside the complex, souvenir shops tempt the visitor - bargain hard and expect to halve the price. Merchants are not so persistent. Some evenings there is a Sound and Light Show here and it's not be be missed - check your hotel for details. A guide (inexpensive) or good guidebook 'Uzbekistan' by Calum Macleod and Bradley Mayhew is recommended to get most value from this attraction. Once inside the complex, sit a while and enjoy the beauty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Registan also viewed

Samarkand, Samarqand Province
Samarkand, Samarqand Province
 
Samarkand, Samarqand Province
Samarkand, Samarqand Province
 

Been to Registan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing