We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing old Uzbek house in the middle of the Jewish quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Legende

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samarkand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Legende
Ranked #16 of 41 Samarkand B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing old Uzbek house in the middle of the Jewish quarter”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Rooms and garden are really great at Legend. Also the breakfast served outside worths the stay.
Negative points are: quite noisy rooms (the ones at the first floor) at night and the showers (not enough power for the water).

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Based on TA & LP recommendations, I made a booking from Australia through a private booking agency based in Uzbekistan (not recommended) because my emails to the hotel kept bouncing. The hotel is located in the old town which made navigation difficult on our first day - we got lost! Little English is spoken here & no attempt was made to give us directions to find our way to/from (we were given a map at least). To add insult to injury, my husband & I were greeted by a pushy tour guide (associated with the travel agency which manages the Legende?) who tried to hustle us into using his services whilst in Samarkand. No welcoming chay after our train trip from Bukhara, just hard sell! That was when I discovered that the hotel had not been notified by the booking agency of my booking - the hotel charges USD45/night B&B while I was charged a hefty USD65/night!!
I found the hotel shabby. Hot water was rationed to set times in the morning & evening. Continental breakfast only. There was a charge of 3000 Cym for a pot of chay - this was complimentary at the guesthouse in Khiva which charged less per night. We weren't made to feel welcome - the owners concentrated more on the French tour groups who were brought to stay. When requested to organise taxis, I felt that we were being ripped off price-wise - USD40 for a return taxi ride to Urgut bazaar, 15,000 Cym for taxi trip to train station. The owners didn't seem to care about the maintenance of their rooms - only 2 lights out of 3 worked in our room, sheets & blankets appeared & felt like army issue manchester! All in all, a lousy stay in Samarkand. And...no wifi.
Location-wise, once you get your bearings, it is an easy walk to Tashkent Kochasi. Centrally located for walking to Siob bazaar, Bibi-Khanym complexes, Shah-I Zinda on one side & to the Registan & the new town on the other.
I think this place is over rated & poor value. Do your homework. Not recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samarkand hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Devon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 2 nights there in August and agree fully with all the positive comments. Room was simple but pleasant and the courtyard was a really lovely tranquil place to sit and unwind. Breakfast was very good and we also enjoyed the dinner which they will provide on request. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble for them. The owner even rushed out to buy a bottle of wine for us when we requested wine with our dinner. The hotel is in a lovely old building in a nice old neighbourhood in easy walking distance of the main sites. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisEDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

We adored staying here for 15 days while doing field work in Samarkand. Equidistant from Registan, Bibi Khanum and Shah-i-Zinda monuments, this oasis of cool and tranquility is situated in the midst of a traditional neighborhood - a mahalla. The westerly (lefthand) part of the courtyard building is designated by UNESCO as a significant architectural resource. Rooms #1 & 2 and the adjacent iwan bear out this status. As with all modestly priced hotels in UZ, there are peculiarities with plumbing and electricity (hence the rating). Don't let this prevent you from enjoying this lovely place; use the courtyard as your living room and enjoy the staff's lunch or dinner if you want to dine in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

The hotel takes up the entirety of a former home/mansion built over 100+ years ago, around large inner courtyard complete with trees, sitting and eating areas. Staying here means taking a moment to go back in time to savor a more classic period of Samarkand. And by so doing, you can really enjoy the experience. Our room was decorated very nicely and had all sorts of neat handcrafts and textiles. The bathroom was elemental and clean, things worked but don't expect the latest in high tech. Electricity could be out for a short time but nothing serious. But isn't that what travel is all about? The dining room is amazing - after taking off one's shoes and entering into its extraordinary decor, everyone's first response is 'wow'. We got to know the hotel owner and family/staff. They were very friendly and helpful (using various languages including mime and French!). We ate there one night, just ask if they'd prepare dinner. I have fond memories of taking an afternoon and just reading on the courtyard bed/lounge and enjoying the sounds of birds, sharing musical likes, etc. FYI, the hotel is a wind-y but eminently walkable way to the Registan. Upon exiting the hotel, turn right and nose your way through the various alleys, side streets, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Samarkand hotels
1.6 mi away
Hotel Caravan Serail Chorrakha
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Malika Prime
Hotel Malika Prime
#3 of 35 in Samarkand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Samarkand Superior
1.3 mi away
Ideal Hotel
Ideal Hotel
#5 of 35 in Samarkand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.7 mi away
Platan
Platan
#2 of 35 in Samarkand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Legende? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Legende

Property: Hotel Legende
Address: Rue Mirzo Oulougbek 48/62, Samarkand 140154, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Samarqand Province > Samarkand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Samarkand
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Hotel Legende Samarkand, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing