We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uses Trip Advisor to lure customers: BEWARE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of El Drugstore

El Drugstore
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Uses Trip Advisor to lure customers: BEWARE!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

A sign posted outside says "it's unanimous: the best food in Colonia. Trip Advisor" Really? We ordered appetizers--bruschetta with prosciutto--and the prosciutto came perched on a dry packaged cracker. This is all the more bewildering because the bread basket included delicious grilled bread! (?) in other words, they had the right ingredients, just couldn't be bothered to use them. Our main meals were very disappointing: the grilled fish plate held 3 large mounds of truly tasteless mashed potato and about 4 ounces maximum of tilapia. The other dish was gnocchi with salsa rosado: the sauce was soupy. Both dishes were lukewarm. Like other reviewers, we were a bit floored by the 22% VAT. If you add up the tax, the cover and the service (tip), the price of your meal goes up 30-40%. Yikes! Prices here are not cheap to begin with, but it hurts all the more when the food is not as advertised.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank hgavel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    735
    309
    142
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Bland Boring Unfriendly and Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

All these good reviews but the food is terrible! I would not recommend, please go elsewhere! Menu not available in English and staff does not speak it either. The salad had a very strange taste and the overall food was something you might find in a really bad American diner, plus it was expensive, $65. USA. We just had the menu prefix and some beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

What a nice place to go! We love it! The Crew,the ambience all very good and the food excelent.
We had a delicious fish with herbs ,made a la carte,Sensacional!
The soup of the day delicious!
The music more than perfect and our applause for the singer!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank veruska2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food, rest poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Have to agree with other reviewers. Food ok, service terrible. 10% cutlery charge and charge for singer. Sorry, what?

PLEASE DON'T GO. Back door charges like this should not be tolerated under any circumstances.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank GM72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Thieves! Ladrones!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

They charged us for cutlery and for the live music that was playing - like we had a choice???
And if you offer Chivito on the plate, please tell us it's more expensive in advance!!! Thank you. We are not coming back.

Helpful?
4 Thank RotemZK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Drugstore also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Drugstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing