We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food and interesting place”
Review of El Drugstore

El Drugstore
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: European, Japanese, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
KA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy food and interesting place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have been here for lunch and we weren't disappointed. Everything is fresh and cooked to order in a nice big open space kitchen so that the customers can see what is being cooked and how the meals are prepared...this is a big plus for me!
If you love salads and cured meats, do not miss their mixed salad (very fresh with fantastic big tomatoes) and the raw ham...it was heavenly good!! And said from an Italian, I think it's a guarantee ;-)
The location is great, the decoration inside and outside is very interesting and out of the ordinary. The staff is very friendly and the young cooks are really good. We will definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kyukkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,922 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    753
    317
    143
    125
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Quirky and interesting”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

In the old part of the town this quirky little place served an interesting menu. Service was a little slow but they do prepare everything freshly so did not mind, You can even dine in one of the old cars parked outside the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good food, friendly service”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

the restaurant has a very nice location in the old part of Colonia, the food is very tasty and the service is very friendly, so we can defenitely recommend El Drugstore.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Live music and good food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great location, with a lot of character with the vintage cars as decor. They treated customers fairly well. Mixed service but food was good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travellers10Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We ate here this evening after spending the day in Colonia. Actually my son chose the restaurant because they have a couple old cars that you can eat in! My wife and I opted for inside the restaurant and my son and daughter chose to eat in a car. The interior was very colorful and had lots of different art on the walls. Our service was very good and prompt. They have cheese fondue here, which we haven't seen very often in Uruguay, so we ate that and it was good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayNVero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Drugstore also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Drugstore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing