We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would definitely go back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Certificate of Excellence
Goiania, GO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I would definitely go back”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The best: The inn is located at a great location downtown the historic Colonia, thus making it easy to go everywhere on foot. Breakfast is excellent, full of pastries and varied fruits, jams, yogurts and juices. There was no whole milk (my favorite), though. We got a room downstairs, which made it easier for us to carry the bags, since there is no elevator. The staff was nice and helpful. The room and bathroom were clean. Colonia is lovely!!!
The worst: The room was not large, but was not very small, either.The only thing we did not like was the bathroom: too small, making it hard even to just close the door while using it. And there was a wall made of (or covered with) stones both in the room and bathroom, which we didn't find very hygienic/sanitary. But that would not keep us from going back and staying at the same inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlimpiaThome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    156
    58
    9
    1
See reviews for
38
236
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
416 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

This B&B only has one good thing going for it and that is the rooftop. After roaming around the quaint town of Colonia we decided to buy a few beers rather than going to a bar and took them to the rooftop which ended up being more enjoyable and a hell of a lot cheaper. From there we watched the sunset over the water. Rooms are outdated small, same as the bathroom, no eggs available for breakfast. No lifts so be prepared to drag your luggage up 3 flights of stairs.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

In this place you can really feel the spirit of the colonial times, the building is very well preserved, clean and with a very nice communal area with helpful guidebooks. The Terrace is amazing with a very nice view! Breakfast was very good and it is a very nice place to stay if you are coming for example from Buenos Aires, to relax a little bit from the noise of a big city. I would always prefer this to a modern hotel with nothing special in the architecture, considering that the whole city is a Unesco Heritage site.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent one night here a couple of weeks ago and had a great time. The room was lovely - beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable with good quality bedding and a nice bathroom. The rest of the hotel was lovely also, including the large communal area which had plenty of relevant guidebooks. There is even a large roof terrace that looks out to the water. The staff were very friendly and so helpful - answering all and any questions we had and taking excellent care of us.
Breakfast was a huge spread of all the things you could want - cereal, breads/meats/cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, pastries and cakes. A great way to start the day!
The hotel is really well located for the bus terminal and the port, and all the old town/beaches etc are within easy walking distance. We were really taken with Colonia itself and whiled away our brief time there wandering the old town, visiting the artisan shops and spending time on the beautiful beaches. The only thing we hadn't realised, perhaps naively, was that since at this point it's still the Rio de la Plata, rather than the sea, the water is brown, owing to all the silt. Still fine to swim in though!
Overall, we appreciated the peace and tranquility of Colonia and the hotel itself, after the buzz and noise of Buenos Aires. If we are ever back in Colonia, we would definitely choose to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Charming posada with original architectural details intact. Elegant place with large and clean rooms. They have a roof terrace ideal to see the sunset. Good location, only five minutes walking to the Barrio Historico. Plenty of good restaurants in both directions. We felt very safe walking around here at night. Staff is friendly and willing to help with anything. Breakfast was great. Consider the two rooms next to the main entrance and the lobby for a few extra bucks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySeamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent two nights at this great little hotel. Just a couple of blocks from the bus station, Hotel Posada del Virrey should be your first stop in Colonia. Clean, elegant rooms plus a delicious breakfast and all within easy walking distance to the old city makes this an ideal place for a stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice, elegant hotel with large and clean rooms. They have a roof terrace, nice place to see the sunset.

Location is close to the old city, only five minutes walking to the Barrio Historico and maybe ten minutes to the city center. Plenty of good restaurants in both directions. We felt very safe walking around here at night.

Staff is very friendly and willing to help with anything. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorisbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Virrey

Property: Hotel Posada del Virrey
Address: Calle de Espana 217, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada del Virrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Posada del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Virrey Hotel
Hotel Posada Del Virrey Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing