We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, beautiful town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent one night here a couple of weeks ago and had a great time. The room was lovely - beautifully furnished, clean and comfortable with good quality bedding and a nice bathroom. The rest of the hotel was lovely also, including the large communal area which had plenty of relevant guidebooks. There is even a large roof terrace that looks out to the water. The staff were very friendly and so helpful - answering all and any questions we had and taking excellent care of us.
Breakfast was a huge spread of all the things you could want - cereal, breads/meats/cheeses, yoghurts, fruit, pastries and cakes. A great way to start the day!
The hotel is really well located for the bus terminal and the port, and all the old town/beaches etc are within easy walking distance. We were really taken with Colonia itself and whiled away our brief time there wandering the old town, visiting the artisan shops and spending time on the beautiful beaches. The only thing we hadn't realised, perhaps naively, was that since at this point it's still the Rio de la Plata, rather than the sea, the water is brown, owing to all the silt. Still fine to swim in though!
Overall, we appreciated the peace and tranquility of Colonia and the hotel itself, after the buzz and noise of Buenos Aires. If we are ever back in Colonia, we would definitely choose to stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieB166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    156
    57
    9
    1
See reviews for
38
235
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Charming posada with original architectural details intact. Elegant place with large and clean rooms. They have a roof terrace ideal to see the sunset. Good location, only five minutes walking to the Barrio Historico. Plenty of good restaurants in both directions. We felt very safe walking around here at night. Staff is friendly and willing to help with anything. Breakfast was great. Consider the two rooms next to the main entrance and the lobby for a few extra bucks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadySeamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We spent two nights at this great little hotel. Just a couple of blocks from the bus station, Hotel Posada del Virrey should be your first stop in Colonia. Clean, elegant rooms plus a delicious breakfast and all within easy walking distance to the old city makes this an ideal place for a stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Very nice, elegant hotel with large and clean rooms. They have a roof terrace, nice place to see the sunset.

Location is close to the old city, only five minutes walking to the Barrio Historico and maybe ten minutes to the city center. Plenty of good restaurants in both directions. We felt very safe walking around here at night.

Staff is very friendly and willing to help with anything. Breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorisbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Lovely colonial and rustic feel, very different from BA where we were staying.

Great lunch in the garden with lovely cold beers.

Service was slow and somewhat perfunctory, but th overll experience was fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent one night at Posada del Virray. Nicely located in the historic district yet away from posada ghetto. It's a charming posada with original architectural details intact. We chose the double deluxe room for its extra space and charm based on photos. However this room we had (named the "Rey Fernando" room) is located at the front street-level of the building, and next to the main entrance and lobby. We heard the rumbling of autos from the street, people returning in th late evening, and noises reverberate in th lobby early next morning. I prefer a quiet environment for sleeping. So if you are too, then you may wish to reconsider the deluxe double room, unless there are others located at a quieter location on the property which I did not notice to be the case. Other than that, the staff were friendly and the breakfast satisfactory.

Room Tip: Request a room in a quiet location if you prefer a quiet sleeping environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marvin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This cute little Spanish style hotel is just off the main street of Colonia. The hotel is nicely decorated with Spanish artifacts. Wifi is available in the large comfy foyer but it was not working during our one night stay.
Our room was reasonably large with a comfortable double bed and a clean ensuite. Thankfully it had a quiet airconditioning unit and also a ceiling fan as it was a warm night the night we stayed. The breakfast was held in a quaint room and there was a good selection of breakfast goodies.
Would I stay again: definately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_on_the_move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#12 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Virrey

Property: Hotel Posada del Virrey
Address: Calle de Espana 217, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada del Virrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Posada del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Virrey Hotel
Hotel Posada Del Virrey Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing