We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Colonia in front of the river”
Review of Charco Bistro

Charco Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We prepare our dishes with fresh and carefully selected raw materials that make our final product a healthy and delicious food.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice place in Colonia in front of the river”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been there because of reviews in TA. We thought it was going to be a peaceful lunch in a great place, but a family of 4 came in with a baby and a kid shouting and crying and parents found it OK. Manager did not help with the situation either.

Food was really good, service OK, nice place. Expensive. We paid with credit card and taxes (20 %) were supposed to be returned in Visa s ticket, but it said nothing about.

If it is a boutique place, kids should not be accepted.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Liz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    393
    65
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't count on reservations”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The setting on the water is beautiful. The food is ordinary. However, don't count on having a reservation. We were awaiting seating on the terrace (with a reservation two days in advance for dinner) and the people behind us (with no reservations) took the places on the terrace, for a beer.

There were no places left. We had to leave and find another place to eat, even though they offered to bring up a table from indoors and crowd it onto the patio.

We are locals and would eat there often, because of the patio, but we feel we have been treated unfairly, and will not return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SAKiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
694 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 801 helpful votes
“A first for Colonia”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been coming to Colonia regularly for a few years without finding one café or restaurant that we were really happy with… until Charco opened, that is. No more compromising with bad service, tasteless food and dated décor, this place has it all, and the best part is you don’t have to pay more for it. Pricing here is comparable with what you will pay elsewhere, perhaps even a little cheaper.

The position on the river is stunning and the décor is designer chic (see my photos). I ordered lamb chops with cuscus and my partner ordered a smoked salmon salad. Our friend ordered the Teriaki Salmon. All three dishes were exquisite. After the mains we ordered coffee, which came out with an assortment of complimentary cookies and mineral water.

This is a very special place, so much so that it makes it onto my list of world standard special café/restaurants, … need I say anymore?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
217 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Almost a five”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

This is a lovely new place right by the river. It's well appointed and very comfortable. Away from the usual tourist spots on the two squares. Service was excellent. Good seafood appetizer with calamari which was a bit too salty for my taste, excellent smoked salmon on blini, and great fried prawns with a peach salsa. The mains were good, not great. Salmon was slightly over cooked and dry but the vegetables with it were great. And pumpkin and cheese ravioli with a very good mushroom sauce which was a little heavy and overwhelmed the taste of the pasta. Dessert was a fabulous chocolate lava cake with a lovely cream ice cream. 

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic dinner”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We had dinner at Charco sitting out on the candle lit terrace overlooking the river. We had the terrace to ourselves which was probably due to eating early at 7.30 pm but very special. The service was outstanding and the food excellent. The menu isn't extensive, but attention to detail for each dish was great. We shared a seafood platter to start and this was plenty for two, the flavours lovely and the squid rings very tender. The beef and salmon mains were tender and juicy- I love it when salmon isn't overdone! We would highly recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner and feel sure with a view more reviews it will be the number one spot for dining in Colonia having eaten at number 1.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charco Bistro also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Charco Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing