We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”
Review of Don Antonio Posada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Don Antonio Posada
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second stay at Don Antonio. It was still the best place to stay in Colonia. Close to the old City, fantastic courtyard with pool and good breakfast. The hotel has a very good vibe. We will comeback back sometime again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms, often they can be booked in advance with a discount on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    392
    85
    11
    2
See reviews for
168
568
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent one night at Posada Don Antonio. It is a simple, but lovely hotel with a great location to walk anywhere and it is extremely quiet. The room was small, but very clean and more than enough space for a night or two. It really is in a beautiful spot of Colonia and we found the breakfast to be very good , large and lots of variety of food. Colonia itself is a gem, truly well worth the visit and we wished we had stayed for a couple of days. We would certainly go back to the Posada Don Antonia if we were to return to Colonia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Posada Don Antonio was located on one of the most beautiful streets in Downtown Colonia. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and inner courtyard with the pool are quiet, pretty, quaint and classy. One of the highlights was the huge, delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. You cannot beat the price, location and style of Don Antonio Posada!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benandsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Cons:
Not a Queen bed as expected
Room was very small and had had a musty odor
Small TV
Old (ugly) furniture
Room (407) far from front desk and no one to help with luggage
Front desk clerk was able to answer most of our questions but she was just not friendly
Breakfast was just OK (Coffee, Ham, Jam, muffins, etc)
Having said all this, the room was very expensive.

Pros:
Location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowplay101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Although it is not situated inside the Citadel, it is very close to it! The rooms are cozy, and the service was very good. The staff was always smilling and willing to help. The breakfast was also good, but I have to add that they should serve more fruits and healthy food.

On the last day, our boat was going to leave at 8pm and they let us stay in the hotel until 6pm withoud charging for it. I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiti
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a wonderful quaint hotel, right in the heart of the old colonial town, walking distance from all amenities. The service was impecable and breakfast scrumptious!
The hotel is very neat and clean. I certainly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view onto the Colonial Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarindaHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

It´s a very nice hotel, colonial style, very nearby the historic quarter of Colonia. Excellent breakfast. Poor bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-lover_sXXI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,089 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
307 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Antonio Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Antonio Posada

Property: Don Antonio Posada
Address: Ituzaingo 232, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Antonio Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Antonio Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Antonio Posada Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Don Antonio Posada Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing