We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way Too Kid Friendly - Staff Inattentive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Way Too Kid Friendly - Staff Inattentive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were here for business about a week in February.

The golf grounds, pools and beach access are all lovely. The outdoor seating area is comfortable. The spa and fitness center were quiet, clean, and very well appointed. There is technically food, coffee and booze available. The rooms are typical, clean, nothing to write home about.

Those are the nicest things I can say about Shera-tone Colonia. This is not a place for English speaking tourists. The front desk is dumbfounded by the requests of "I'd like a copy of my folio" and "can you please connect me to the telephone in the room of Mr. Smith?"

There are 2 elevators, on separate recall systems. One will fly right past you and there are no stairs to bypass this frustration unless you push past the sign that says "Employees Only, No Access." You have to push both buttons, stand in the middle and hope you see the doors open before someone pushes the close button inside. There is literally a kid's camp on the entire bottom floor, so unattended minors are in the elevators and screaming down the halls.

Service in the bar is reluctant and slow.

So yeah, probably a really great place for a family on vacation who likes to golf and speaks Spanish. It was not a happy time for me.

Room Tip: 1st floor you have stairway access The Suites are the most expansive Suites I've seen in simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you liked the hotel and its environment. However, we are really sorry that you had to go through all that inconveniences and we are working on each topic in order to improve our service.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

922 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    340
    104
    45
    21
See reviews for
326
364
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Modern hotel and lobby. Very spacious rooms with beautiful views, comfortable beds and pillows, and ample bathrooms. The Spa and gym are very complete. We really enjoyed our yoga and gym classes, the swimming pool, the tennis court and the family bingo!!! An entertainer took care of the younger ones, organized pool games, activities in the playroom and took them fishing.
Excellent breakfast and dinner!
Very competent staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Gloria,

Thank you for taking this time to write these comments.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the hotel.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I parked my car on the parking lot, which is very big and free and entered the lobby. The loby was breathtaking, the service was excellent. The rooms were very big and as was the bathroom that was also very modern. The beds were very big and comfortable. The Gym was ver big, modern and complete. When i stayed at the hotel the inside pool was broken because of a storm so i couldn't use it. The outside pool is not very deep so its difficult to swim but is very big which is good because the hotel is always full.
The breakfast is very good although is very expensive and the food from the restaurant is razonable cut there are good offers.
The building is lovely, very modern.
The wifi does not work well on the loby and for having internet on the room you need to pay a high price.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the golf are less noisy, cheaper and have a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John0986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Juancho:

Thank you for your comments and feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are glad to read that you liked the hotel and its arquitecture and decoration.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed over night at this hotel on our way from Buenos Aires to Montevideo. The pool area is beautiful and makes the stay enjoyable. It's better to have a car to get to this hotel otherwise they have a deal with a taxi company that charges $11 (about 200 pesos) to get you to town every time.
The rooms are quite spacious and bright.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraR25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Sara,

Thank you for feedback about you stay at our hotel.

We are glad that you liked our hotel, specially the pool area and the rooms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
230 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Everything you would expect from the Sheraton chain and not much else. For as new as it is, the whole place looks a little beat up. Watch out for the warped wood flooring in main lobby area! It is located outside of the city in a building housing area. Avoid the rooms on the city end of the building - the rooms facing the river will overlook the roof of the building below.We stayed over a long weekend and the 'resort' was full of families and kids. If you want a bench or chair poolside, go early and stake something out. Golf course was good enough, very few players while we were there. We did not use any of the spa services. We will return to Colonia, but have already located somewhere to stay that is better fit for us.

Room Tip: Higher floors, nothing facing the river on the city end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldtravelinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Oldtravelinggolfer,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you liked our golf course.

Although, we are really sorry to know you found our building and the view not as good as expected. We wish we could have surprised you in a positive way as a Sheraton.

We look forward to receiving you again during your next visit to Colonia del Sacramento.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is an interesting property. My wife and I were staying in Buenos Aires 6 nights, and used starwood points to book one night at this property so we could bounce over to Uruguay for a night and not do the "day trip rush" - plus we wanted to golf just so we could say we had golfed in South America.

Long story short, most of the "4 out of 5 reviewers" have it right, and only if you are ready to be somewhat confined to a single property - this is not close to much else. We rented a gas-powered golf cart in Colonia that was quite the piece of equipment (sounded like a really loud lawn mower, but was seriously fast and fun), so we could escape the Sheraton as desired with a 12 minute drive into town. A couple of notes:
-- Pool setup is great but as noted, more for families
-- Beers are $8 USD all over the property. Bottles of Stella, Pilsen, etc. That is pricey for Uruguay.
-- Golf for us was $140 USD for 2 people for 9 holes. Note this was $30 per person for 9 holes of golf, $30 for the golf cart, $20 to rent ONE set of clubs that my wife and I shared, and the kicker - $15 for 3 non-branded golf balls. (we got 2 packs for 6 total). However, the day was picture perfect, and clearly not a lot of people golf (at least that Wed) - we had the course to ourselves. Almost. Never plan to retrieve a mis-hit ball, since there are a cast of animal characters in the jungle rough and foliage that is impossible to even begin to retrieve a ball. A fun course if you are somewhat accurate but bring 20 balls if you are not straight (per person!)
-- We do want to call out our dinner at the one restaurant - my wife had a Caesar salad and the Tilapia, and it was fantastic. A great lower-price Malbec and that meal ended up really being fantastic. Not "cheap" by the area standards but great quality and complex flavors that we loved.

Room Tip: Golf-course / pool facing view was really nice touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Steve,

Thank you for sharing with us your experience at our hotel.

We are glad that you had the chance to visit Uruguay and specially Colonia del Sacramento and that you enjoyed you meal at our restaurant.

We are sorry to know the trouble you had on our golf course and that you found your hotel more family oriented, since we really want all our guests to enjoy your stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

I stay here when visiting my plant in colonia,Uruguay. It's a fairly modern build with lots of open space. The rooms are modern and always clean and well maintained.
For business it's fine, a good bed and beer at the bar but its set up for families with outdoor pools and rolls onto the beach. However there are few amenities, limited food choices and unless your kids play in pools all day long most looked restless!

Also staff are mainly invisible, particularly when you need them

Is also not that cheap. If there was a better restaurant it would get a 4.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riverhouse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Riverhouse95,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us.

We are pleased to know that you like our hotel specially coming on business.

We are sorry that our amenities and food choices were not good enough and will work in order to improve this.

We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
2.4 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.8 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
2.3 mi away
Spa Hotel La Reserve
Spa Hotel La Reserve
#21 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Property: Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. A looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of this destination listed as World Heritage Site by Unesco due to its rich history.Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor. Just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing