We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posada del Angel”
Review of Posada del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada del Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Downey, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Posada del Angel”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We spent one night in the posada and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everyone in the hotel was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The location cannot be beat for easy access (2 blocks) to the old historical part of the city, which was our main interest. Plenty of good places to eat within easy walking distance. Only 1/2 block from the Rio de la Plata. I would stay here again any time I find myself in Colonia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenina_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    149
    59
    14
    6
See reviews for
66
212
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was only in colonia for one night, but this was absolutely the right place to stay. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were happy to recommend places to eat, visit, and shop. It was also very well located.
If you are looking for all of the luxuries of a large hotel chain, you won't find them here, but if you are looking for a nice home away from home, I definately recommend posada del angel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeller89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The staff, like everyone in Colonia, was very friendly and helpful, despite the language barrier. The location was good, near the port and the old city.
The issue that made me lower the rating is value for money. Even taking into account the 10% discount for paying cash, we saw several places for similar prices with larger and better furnished rooms, making the Posada del Angel look overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GregoryTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Only a few minutes from the ferry port the pousada is clean comfortable has a lovely little pool and friendly helpful staff. We stayed in two rooms and would have stayed longer if it had not been fully booked. Offers a discount if paying with cash.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great small hotel, excellent location. We stayed one night in one room (no windows) and the second in the garden room, both very clean and comfortable beds, with aircon. Worth paying the extra for the garden room. The pool was great too, spent a couple of hours reading and sunning ourselves by it. Nice breakfasts. You can't pay with Mastercard though so take Visa or get cash. We got our washing done when we were staying and it was speedy and good value.

Room Tip: Get a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Black-eyePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We took the Busquebus from Buenos Aires to Colonia del Sacramento in Uruquay. Nice ferry trip takes about one hour a bit cheaper than the same ride, different ferry taking 3 hours. Be at the terminal one hour ahead as it can be crowded and the ferry leaves on time.

The Posada del Angel is a good value, clean and quiet, and our room (7) was perfect. The place is built around a central indoor area and has a nice breakfast room. The pool area is beautiful with lots of chairs and lounges to enjoy. The hotel is located a 5 to 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal and 5 minutes from the old town which is lovely. Posada staff is all very helpful and cheerful.

There is an ATM at the bus terminal which is next door to the ferry terminal. You can get American dollars there as well as Uruguayan pesos. We did not see an ATM in the ferry terminal. Many businesses and restaurants in Colonia do not take credit cards. Many will take Argentine pesos or American dollars if you are running out of Uruguayan pesos.

Room Tip: We liked room 7, one of two on the street. As we didn't see the rest of the rooms, (all full) w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Husband and I enjoyed one night at this small inn with very lovely decor, an amiable hostess, and clean and quaint little rooms. There was a breakfast room, and a pool area in a sheltered back yard to enjoy -- with many flowers, grapes, vines, and well-tended. Olga is helpful and kind and assisted us with luggage and provided information. Inn is located within walking distance of business district with restaurants and shops. It is also near the bus station and port to take off in the Buquebus ferry for a small cab fare, if you have luggage.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street and it was quiet - so I think all the rooms would be OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,036 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Angel

Property: Posada del Angel
Address: Washington Barbot 59, Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada del Angel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada Del Angel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing