We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada del Angel
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort(Colonia del Sacramento)
$184
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada del Virrey(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Mirador Hotel and Spa(Colonia del Sacramento)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Viajero(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada de la Flor(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leoncia(Colonia del Sacramento)
$100
$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
148
159
64
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
159
64
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busold townno reservationsunny daybreakfast roomfew blocksferry tripvery nice placerooms are smallnice poolminute walkgood sizeexcellent locationwalking distancebuenos airesworkableyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 391 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Great small hotel, excellent location. We stayed one night in one room (no windows) and the second in the garden room, both very clean and comfortable beds, with aircon. Worth paying the extra for the garden room. The pool was great too, spent a couple of hours reading and sunning ourselves by it. Nice breakfasts. You can't pay with Mastercard though so take Visa or get cash. We got our washing done when we were staying and it was speedy and good value.

Room Tip: Get a garden room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black-eyePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We took the Busquebus from Buenos Aires to Colonia del Sacramento in Uruquay. Nice ferry trip takes about one hour a bit cheaper than the same ride, different ferry taking 3 hours. Be at the terminal one hour ahead as it can be crowded and the ferry leaves on time.

The Posada del Angel is a good value, clean and quiet, and our room (7) was perfect. The place is built around a central indoor area and has a nice breakfast room. The pool area is beautiful with lots of chairs and lounges to enjoy. The hotel is located a 5 to 10 minute walk from the ferry terminal and 5 minutes from the old town which is lovely. Posada staff is all very helpful and cheerful.

There is an ATM at the bus terminal which is next door to the ferry terminal. You can get American dollars there as well as Uruguayan pesos. We did not see an ATM in the ferry terminal. Many businesses and restaurants in Colonia do not take credit cards. Many will take Argentine pesos or American dollars if you are running out of Uruguayan pesos.

Room Tip: We liked room 7, one of two on the street. As we didn't see the rest of the rooms, (all full) we can't comment.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DETAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Husband and I enjoyed one night at this small inn with very lovely decor, an amiable hostess, and clean and quaint little rooms. There was a breakfast room, and a pool area in a sheltered back yard to enjoy -- with many flowers, grapes, vines, and well-tended. Olga is helpful and kind and assisted us with luggage and provided information. Inn is located within walking distance of business district with restaurants and shops. It is also near the bus station and port to take off in the Buquebus ferry for a small cab fare, if you have luggage.

Room Tip: We had a room on the street and it was quiet - so I think all the rooms would be OK
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneSattler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We stayed at the Posada for one night (feb 2 2012) and had a good experience. The old house were the hotel is located is charming and the pool area is very pleasant. The rooms are complete (flat tv with cable, silent AC, at least in the superior unit), but small and with outdated furniture (the bed, however, was comfortable and provided a good night of sleep). The bathroom speacially could be better: ours had no windows and plastic curtains instead of glass in the shower box. All in all, have in mind this is a simple hotel. But we would surely be back. We loved Colonia and this hotel kind of puts you into the mood of the old centre.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rratier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Colonia is a wonderful place to be and posada del angel makes your visit even more worthwhile!
Lovely place with a green en flowerfilled courtyard and a swimmingpool.
Staff is very helpfull and friendly; makes you feel welcome.
Located close to busterminal, ferryterminal and ciudad vieja.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christelg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews