We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”
Review of Posada Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Plaza Mayor
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed February 7, 2009

My husband and myself have recently returned from a brief two night stay at this small hotel / B&B and highly recommend it to those travelling to Colonia. It was a welcome relief and escape from BA.

Location: It is located in the historic part of town, which is really pretty with lots of cobblestone streets. It is only a short taxi ride from when you get off the ferry from BA and I would suggest you do that, rather than trying to walk. There is also a big presence of police in the area, both during the night and during the day, so we never once felt uncomfortable, regardless of where we were walking in Colonia. Note: Beware of the taxi drivers, as I know that we were ripped off on arrival, as well as on our departure.

Accommodation: We booked directly via: e-mail with the hotel and at the time of our booking, there were only two rooms left. We chose to upgrade and took a room/suite for US165 and it was gorgeous. My only suggestion would be, request a room at the back, as the rooms at the front are extremely noisy from the restaurants across the road. The grounds ie. the courtyard are very pretty and there is also a nice spot to sit at the back of the hotel.

Breakfast: Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had when staying in a B&B. Great choice, with lots of fresh fruits and local dishes. Loved it.

Internet: There was a small room where you had free internet access. To me this is important and I never once had an issue trying to get to the computer.

Staff: The staff are friendly and helpful and if you only speak very basic Spanish like myself, the were no issues communicating with the staff, as they all spoke English.

Restaurants / Shopping: There are lots of restaurants to choose from and we found ourselves having a big lunch and a big dinner, just because we couldn't choose. You don't go to Colonia (or at least where we were) for the shopping.

Would I stay at this hotel / B&B again, absolutely.

Regards,
Cherie Clover

Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Cloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    154
    35
    14
    7
See reviews for
49
256
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2008

My girlfriend and I decided to spend 2 days in Colonia. We had heard great reviews from friends and living in Buenos Aires, it seemed a nice option.
In general we try to avoid big chains, trying to blend with the locals and choosing little typical hotels. We booked this little hotel based on reviews here. Once again, we chose well.
The hotel itself is in a great location inside the old city. The setting is lovely.
Pros: Clean. Educated and attentful staff. Good recommendations to travel near Colonia. Incredible patio. Location, location, location. Nice A/C in the room. Veeeery quiet and relaxing.
Cons: No swimming poo (not essential, would be a nice touch). Our room #16 was just ok.
Average: Breakfast.
Internet: available in a room downstairs.
Cable TV: not available in our room (you won´t need it).
Definetely a very nice hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Construction
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dr_zito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2008

Colonia is a not to miss place to visit while you are in Buenos Aires or while traveling in Uruguay. This hotel was clean and beautiful with a nice breakfast and a pleasant staff.
We booked the hotel thru Buquebus who charged 10 percent for booking. Our room was 120.00 usdollars and was in the courtyard , close to resturants and in the historical area of Colonia. We were only there 2 nights and would have stayed longer. We took the fast boat back to BA in one hour and it was worth the extra money.

  • Liked — beautiful setting
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

I have visited Colonia on various occasions, and concluded that the Plaza Mayor is the best accommodation option. The hotel itself is fairly small - about 15 rooms around a courtyard. The rooms aren't that large, but big enough, and nicely decorated with bare stone walls and colonial style furniture. There is a decent buffet breakfast in a cafe overlooking the River Plate, where you can watch the sailing boats heading back to Buenos Aires. But the great advantage is the location - right in the heart of the colonial centre, you can walk out the front door and begin sightseeing. And it isn't noisy either - Colonia tends to quieten down fairly early, and the solid construction keeps out most street noise. There are other hotels in Colonia that offer a 'luxury' experience, but they tend to be well out of town - my advice is don't bother with them, and stay in this clean, comfortable and attractive hotel in an excellent location.

  • Liked — Great location, colonial atmosphere
  • Disliked — Rooms are average size
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
282 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

The hotel is in the main square of the old town of Colonia. The few bars and restaurants are all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel via the lovely cobbled streets of the town. The hotel is set around a courtyard with a fountain which provides a very relaxing setting. The room was very clean and tastefully furnished but with all mod cons. The lady on the front desk spoke perfect english and was very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend a visit to Colonia and a stay in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a day getaway from Buenos Aires while on our honeymoon. I cannot say enough about how perfect this little hotel is. First of all, it is so incredibly beautiful and quaint. It's on a little cobblestone street just off of Plaza Mayor. Our room was off of the courtyard which is just incredibly beautiful and peaceful. The location is great for exploring the little town. It's close to restaurants and the water. If you are spending more than a day in Colonia, I definitely suggest renting transportation to see the town. You can rent a golf cart (and drive it on the street), a scooter or a dune buggy (in addition to renting a car of course). We wanted to do the dune buggy but we just weren't there long enough.

The staff at the hotel is great. They are very friendly and helpful with suggestions.

Definitely stay at this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

  • Liked — The beauty
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel. We were a group, so we booked 5 rooms. All were great. The hotel is very clean, offers a buffet breakfast, is conveniently located in the historic area of Colonia. Rooms have DirectTV, A/C, and private bathrooms. It has a nice fountain and a lot of nature.

  • Liked — staff / service / rooms
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dimapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Plaza Mayor

Property: Posada Plaza Mayor
Address: Calle Del Comercio 111 | Barrio Histórico, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Posada Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Posada Plaza Mayor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing