We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada Plaza Mayor
Nearby Hotels
Posada del Angel(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$85
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Mision(Colonia del Sacramento)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada El Viajero(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$65
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort(Colonia del Sacramento)
$167
$157
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Posada de la Flor(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$64
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayres Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveler rating
180
168
36
15
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
168
36
15
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast roomperfect locationbuenos airesold townone nightflower filledinternal courtyardnice roomstreet noisethe main squaregrape vinesquaint hotelfountainportugueseinternetferrybrick
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 407 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We are just finishing a 6 week trip in Argentina, chile, and Uruguay . I was disappointed in the hotel. We got a room on the newer floor. It was musty, with old, stained carpet. Black mold around the sink. We saw very nice colonial rooms off of the patio. This was not one of them. Service was mediocre. The day we left, the hotel was empty, but a request for a late checkout was denied. This did not happen at any other hotel that we stayed. There was no elevator and no one to help with our bags. The woman at the desk reluctantly helped me get them down. The breakfast was mediocre.the patio is pleasant, but there are very few chairs, and the chairs are not comfortable. The hotel has potential, but needs better management. The town is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The definition for the Plaza Mayor Hotel would be: the location alone does not make it a great lodging option in Colonia. You stay here and you can leave your car parked because all the touristic attractions are at walking distance from the hotel. The staff is very kind , but the hotel looks old fashioned (not precisely XVII century like), the furniture and carpets have to be renewed. Breakfast is just ok for the rate. The tiny pool requires service as well. All in all, the rate is not expensive but you do not get that much for the money you pay. If you walk around all day and come back completely exhausted praying for a bed wihout taking much care of the quality standards, this hotel is fine.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JORGEUruguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Hotel Plaza Mayor is right off one of the main squares in Colonia. We thought the location was perfect for wandering the town. Our room was large, very clean and nicely decorated. There is a central courtyard with lovely plants and a water fountain and chairs for relaxing outside your room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We enjoyed this beautiful hotel in the old city.
Most pleasant. The staff were helpful, the location perfect, and the courtyard wasvery quiet and relaxing.
The hotel is in the heart of the old city and one can easily walk to all of the sites in old Colonia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazyhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The posada is located on one corner of the main central square in the old town. It is a lovely location convenient for wandering the streets of the historic centre. We booked a colonial standard which faced a central patio complete with fountaIn and a lovely garden. Chairs are provided to sit outside the room - perfect for spot of late afternoon relaxation.
The rooms themselves are very traditional. Although the bedroom furniture and bathroom fittings are a few years old, all work perfectly well and the room was spotlessly clean. The room we stayed in had a high beamed and tiled ceiling giving a spacious feeling. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast the next morming had a good selection of food including breads, pastries, juices.
Highly recommended for a stay in Colonia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews