We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but not Radisson standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but not Radisson standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I love Radisson hotels and have in many across Europe. This one had real charm, friendly and helpful staff & incredible pool facilities (which made it well worth staying!)
The room was very spacious but the bathroom was very worn. The toilet seat was falling off, as was the handrail and sink didn't seem attached either. The wear and tear on the hotel was v evident in the bathroom and it could do with some work doing on it for Radisson prices.
I enjoyed staying and would do again but it didnt seem the price reflected the quality I have experienced in other Radissons.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oleadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    779
    156
    45
    11
See reviews for
643
903
56
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Being such a small town, Colonia del Sacramento offers a limited number of options to stay near the historic downtown area. Radisson Hotel & Casino is probably the best option to choose, unless you prefer small (though charming) hostels and "posadas". The place is well kept, clean, with very comfortable roooms (skip the standard ones), with cool views to Rio de La Plata. Breakfast service falls a little below what you could expect from one of the most expensive hotels in Colonia, but all in all, I'll stay there again. All the staff is professional though very strict in check in and out times.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view, junior suites are a very good option!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
174 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is a good enough hotel. You can tell they mean well. We found the staff very attentive to our needs. The food was good enough but not great. The indoor pool was warm enough and almost clean. The view to the river was nice and the room was almost clean enough. I would stay here again if there were no other option or they were giving it for free but I would look for other places to stay the next time I go to Uruguay. Also, be prepared to use your spanish as english is not spoken here.

Room Tip: Having reserved two rooms (one for children and one for us) I found the $80 (US) more for a river vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortoverspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad de la Costa, Uruguay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Here peace and beauty get together, to create a special athmosphere. As in every situation, you must be in the mood, but if you're in a high pleasure+rest mode, this is THE place to go.
To some of the nicest river views in Colonia from the balcony (highest floor, river side), you must add a very cute and comfortable room.
The restaurant is very good, and people at it is extremely polite and they take care of every possible detail. Maybe a little expensive, but, I think it worths the bucks.
A nice lovely hotel, in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Third floor, river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar del Plata, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

It´s perfect to know the old city. It´s near the historical city. You can walk a lot, buy with tax free. Take beautyful photos. From your room you can see the river. The people is very nice!! The food is quite expensive (may be for Argentina). The place is to travel one or two nights, no more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryna_Sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook, Hawaii
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

This was a nice modern hotel with a casino also located under its roof. Its location was near and within walking distance of both the ferry station and the bus station (two separate locations). The room was slightly “tired” and on the dark side. The carpet was stained but the overall room was clean and modern with an exceptional view. Included with the room was a small refrigerator, TV, and free Wi-Fi. The bathroom had a tub and shower as well a toilet and bidet and a hairdryer. There were a couple of computers on the first floor that guests could use for free.

Our room came with breakfast which is located on the ground floor. It was a fabulous spread of breakfast meats including bacon, sausages, and eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, assorted yogurts, bread for toast, croissants, various little pastries, fruit juices, cut up fresh fruit, cereals and coffee and tea.

The front desk staff members were as helpful as they could be but only spoke Spanish so it was a little difficult getting information about the town. No problem checking in and out, though. Although the hotel was clean and adequate and the breakfast was good, the hotel wasn’t anything special and therefore we felt it was overpriced. There were quite a few other small and clean establishments in the area that offered comparable rooms for much less than we paid at the Radisson.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KOA002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Radisson is a very average hotel in a charming city. The room was clean, and the beds were comfortable but the decor was dated. The pool is nice, but is much smaller than it appears in the photo. If I were to travel to Colonia again I would pick one of the small boutique type hotels that are peppered around the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ItsAboutTheTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spa Hotel La Reserve
Spa Hotel La Reserve
#22 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento

Property: Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Address: Washington Barbot 283, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel & Casino is conveniently located by the River Plate, one block from the historic part of the city, declared World Heritage site by UNESCO in 1995.Whether you want to relax and get a good rest or to plan your next business trip, stay in one of our 60 finely European-style decorated rooms. Enjoy our restaurant with panoramic view, a lobby bar, an outdoor swimming pool overlooking the river, two hot baths, a large jetted Jacuzzi tub, last generation Jacuzzi, massage room, a gym, a dry sauna, a play room, outdoor activities, conference rooms and business center. Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel & Casino’s facilities are provided for the purpose of holding events such as conventions, seminars, conferences, business and social events. We boast rooms, catering and conference services tailor made to your event. The casino has 152 slot machines, 6 roulette tables, 4 blackjack tables, 1 Poker Texas Hold'em table, 2 Caribbean Stud Poker tables and 1 baccarat tableFACILITIES• Air Conditioning heat – cold throughout the hotel• Lounge/TV room• High Speed Wireless Internet (WiFi) • Large jetted Jacuzzi tub • Last generation Jacuzzi • Baggage storage• Elevator • Breakfast buffet • 24-hour room service • Outdoor swimming pool overlooking the bay • Solarium • Dry Sauna• Gym• Meeting rooms • Direct access to Casino • Reading room and lounge• Poolside towel service• Business Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Colonia Del Sacramento
Colonia Del Sacramento Radisson
Radisson Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento Uruguay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing