We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful, small hotel”
Review of Posada Le Vrero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Le Vrero
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A delightful, small hotel”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Located in a lovingly restored traditional casona, with a great attention to detail and a perfect marriage of the old and the modern, this hotel was a delight to stay in. Impeccably clean, with modern bathrooms and neat rooms where nothing was missing, nice garden with an outdoor fireplace, wonderful breakfast and delightful service. Compliments to the owner Luciano for his attention to the guests and for making this place a great choice to stay in Colonia del Sacramento, a UNESCO World Heritage site. The ferry harbour with service to Buenos Aires is just about 150 yards away and the historic city is a walking distance away too.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a large private terrace....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Nancy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    164
    28
    7
    8
See reviews for
62
310
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed at a bedroom upstairs facing the street. I didn't have problems with noise coming from the street BUT there was a lot of noise coming from an engine or machine, I don't know if it belongs to the posada or to the neighbor. It's a noise from some huge equipment (water heater?) turning on and off randomly the whole night. I always carry earplugs so I could get by but it's bothering for those sensitive to noise.
The posada is in a nice house and I think they did a good job with renovation. The facilities are new, the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's charming but to call it a boutique hotel is a bit of a stretch.
Although I reserved with a promotional rate I think it was overpriced for what it offers considering that there are lots of options in Colonia. But it was also during an Argentinian holiday so prices were higher in general.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cricri_dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This was our second stay at Posada Le Vrero and we enjoyed it as much as the first. The previous reviewer got it just right. In fact, if it's who I think it is, we spent a wonderful evening on the terrace with her and her husband, talking of travel and enjoying a brew (or two). Luciano, the host, joined in and provided some great insight into local history and culture. The restoration of the house by him and his family has been meticulous and they are truly welcoming upon arrival and throughout. Too bad we had only one night ... next time, more!

Room Tip: I'd like to try the room that opens directly onto the garden terrace ... but both rooms we'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike98664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Luciano made our visit to colonia del Sacramento a memorable experience. The town is worth a walk around, but we booked to stay three nights. Too long for a small town, but not so, hotel was so comfortable, rooms are small but have everything you need, but the garden terrace is so inviting. We had wine and great conversation with guests and Luciano each evening. The location is perfect for bus terminal, ferry, Rambla, and town.

Room Tip: #4 on the garden terrace, #9 has private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjollyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Perfect place for 1 to 2 nights. Just around the corner from the Bouquebus station and close walking proximity to the old town of Colonia (5 minutes). Rooms are small but nice and sleeping quality is very good. Breakfast is simple but good and there is a little patio in the back. Perfect place to get rest before continuing the travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JakeRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, accommodation was perfect. The owner is incredibly helpful and goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. Rooms are clean and comfortable--great aircon and water pressure. Lovely garden in the back. Great wifi too!! Close to bus station and ferry terminal and very close to Main Street Flores. Old town is about a 7 min walk. The entire town of Colonia is very small and walkable!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joykjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Renovated building 10' walking from the barrio historico. Our room was clean and the staff very kind. Breakfast was ok, with pasteries, fresh fruit and several juices. Few minutes walking from the buquebus, bike and car rental.
Definitely a good place to be in Colonia del Sacramento.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Le Vrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Le Vrero

Property: Posada Le Vrero
Address: Av. 18 de Julio 521, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Le Vrero 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here lived the Uruguayan writer Mario Levrero.It has Nine exclusive rooms, all with their tv 32" led, safe, air conditioning, free WiFi.She was appointed by the Mayor of Colonia del Sacramento, of cultural interest.Selected by the prestigious newspaper as one of the Five places to keep track of meeting on a trip to Colonia del Sacramento.Today Posada "Le Vrero" is a landmark on the itinerary of any traveler passing through colony.Currently admirarores come from different places of the writer looking to take a picture in the house where he lived, being a place of cultural pilgrimage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Le Vrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Le Vrero Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing