We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just perfect”
Review of Posada Le Vrero

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Le Vrero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This posada was perfect in every way.It was newly furnished, had a lovely courtyard where we ate a full and delicious breakfast. The owner was very helpful with directions and information.He sent us to his mother's favorite restaurant- which turned out to be very good and not as "touristy" as so many restaurants in the town.The room was like a little oasis and helped make our overnight in Colonnia so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Luciano told us if we come again or ecommend friends to ask for room 9- which has it's own balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiagouruguay C, Gerente at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 509 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

welcomming and helpful staff, they lend us the pc and gave us a lot of information about Colonia, beaches and buses. The small hotel is 1 minute to the ferry and bus station, in a quite road 5 minutes walk to the historic center. Our basic double room was big, clean, well equiped and confortable. Very good breakfast served in the hall or in the garden.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonia_liguria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiagouruguay C, Propietario at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We pitched up on spec after being turned away from a nearby hotel which was fully booked. Lucky us, because we were introduced to Luciano at the Posada Le Vrero, who spoke excellent English and within minutes he had us sold. Voluntarily, he immediately showed us a delightful room just next to the garden before even asking for payment, which he accepted in either US dollars or Uruguayan pesos.

The room was nicely proportioned with a large flat screen TV in one corner (quite a few English speaking channels) above the work top/desk, which also had a tray full of cutlery and crockery. How often do you want to borrow a plate or a knife in a hotel? Yet here they had it all laid out for you, including kitchen paper! A small fridge kept drinks and snacks cool and they also supplied an electric kettle.

The bed was over-sized and firmly comfortable (our preference) and we had the option of air-con or overhead ceiling fan. Cracking wi-fi locked immediately upon booting up the laptop and we had the fastest rate we’ve experienced in Uruguay at 65 Mbps. What a pleasant change.

The bathroom had a large walk in shower with lashings of hot water, while sink, WC and bidet completed the essentials, along with toiletries and a power point for your shaver/toothbrush. Excellent towels.

To use the room safe, just ask Reception for the key.

If we had to be extra critical and look for faults, we’d be hard pushed; perhaps a chair to sit at the desk? Then again, if we had asked I’m sure it wouldn’t have been a problem.

Breakfast was very pleasant with all you need to satisfy morning peckishness before you head off to the harbour, under 10 minutes walk away and as ever, all the staff were more than accommodating.

More details and pictures on our Blog- see profile for address, or just send us a private message.

Room Tip: Our pick would be to ask for the garden room, #4, though it may be a slightly higher premium, it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktelontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiagouruguay C, Propietario at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Everything is new, it all works, the breakfast was very good, and the location is very convenient. Our host gave great info, speaks English, and was never put out by our continual requests. My husband became sick while we were there and Luciano had him rest in bed, and an ambulance and attendant made a home visit to the hotel in about 20 minutes. All paid for by the hotels insurance plan. He then translated the medics comments for us.

The little garden area is a real bonus, for eating breakfast or just sitting and relaxing or meeting other guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMPc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The place was cute and the breakfast was wonderful. Very helpful and friendly staff. Made us feel really at home. They helped us with booking our wine tour and really went beyond expectations. Good location would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santiagouruguay C, Propietario at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Arriving on foot by ferry from Buenos Aires, the location is very convenient at hardly 2 blocks away. The historic centre is a couple of blocks to the west, just a leisurely stroll along a leafy avenue. The rooms are clean and simple. Some have a semi-kitchen (ie, a sink but no cooking plates). Reception is very welcoming and staff is really helpful. Breakfast is good and plentiful.

Room Tip: There is one suit with private terrace if this might be of interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sasuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Spent one night on December 6th. Short walk from the ferry,bus station and to the old town.

This charming Posada is family owned and we certainly enjoyed the conversations we had with a son, Luciano. The back garden area is pleasant for relaxing too.

I think the place was restored last year....so everything is clean,neat and in great condition. The room could have been a bit larger....the bathroom was divine...the BATH TOWELS the best we had in Uruguay.

Breakfast was simple and also filling.

A great choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morewierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ayres Hotel
Ayres Hotel
#12 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#9 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada El Capullo
Posada El Capullo
#5 of 29 in Colonia del Sacramento
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Le Vrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Le Vrero

Address: Av. 18 de Julio 521, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $58 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Le Vrero 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here lived the Uruguayan writer Mario Levrero.It has Nine exclusive rooms, all with their tv 32" led, safe, air conditioning, free WiFi.She was appointed by the Mayor of Colonia del Sacramento, of cultural interest.Selected by the prestigious newspaper as one of the Five places to keep track of meeting on a trip to Colonia del Sacramento.Today Posada "Le Vrero" is a landmark on the itinerary of any traveler passing through colony.Currently admirarores come from different places of the writer looking to take a picture in the house where he lived, being a place of cultural pilgrimage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Posada Le Vrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Le Vrero Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing