We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Find”
Review of El Abrazo

El Abrazo
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "El Abrazo" (The embrace) is a Cultural Shop aimed to spread uruguayan Culture through Music, Literature, Photography and Design. From this little spot we embrace those who make our lives more pleasant and we salute those who enjoy cluture in its different forms!
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Find”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We happened to find El Abrazo by chance but the charming owner, who also speaks good English, quickly found the music of a Uruguayan Tango singer that we had seen live two nights before. He also played us some other music and we left happy with two CD's and two books. The store is small but filled with well chosen products selected by someone who is doing this for the pleasure rather than for money. Well with visiting.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely worth to visit!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A very sympathetic shop to stop by if you are interested in some quality local music, books and a few artisan souvenirs… The owner is very friendly and helpful, we've spend almost an hour listening to different bands from Uruguay, he also recommended us a few places to eat which were quite good!
I'll sure go back next time i am there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank a_guran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A great place to discover Uruguayan music”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

If you are looking for helpful advice and informed suggestions about Uruguayan music this is the place to visit. The service is friendly and attentive - and you will have the chance to listen to sample tracks from many different albums before making your purchase. There is also a good selection of books available.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank IDID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent music store in Colonia!”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is always refreshing to find someone so knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and passionate about what they do. This small store in Colonia has CDs, art, and small gifts. They specialize in everything Uruguay. We spent 20 minutes listening to different CDs and artists. The owner of the shop gave the history on all of the artists and was able to narrow down a few he thought we would like based on our descriptions. Given that we live in the US, we will unlikely be back anytime soon but will definitely stay in touch for some more good music tips going forward. Swing by on your way from the ferry to historic Colonia!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KelMelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Abrazo also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Abrazo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing