We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

Faro de Colonia del Sacramento
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Guided Day Trip to Citadel of Colonia del Sacramento from Montevideo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ascend to the top of this still-operating 1857 lighthouse for a lovely view of the city.
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

A bit windy at the top but well worth the climb and only $20 Uruguayan. We went on a clear day and could see across the estuary to Buenos Aires

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MBLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,661
    1,769
    536
    26
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Go at sunset, bring a small beer”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is about the first thing we did when we came to Colonia. The lightouse is central, and easy to locate in such a small town. Around 5pm we paid the entrance fee of 20 Uruguay peso, and did the 3 minute climb to the top. At the top we could sit and enjoy a beautiful sunset while having a view of the whole town. We could also see down to the central park where all the parrots were flying around. They are most active around dusk.

The sunset here will be like nothing you ever saw before...the sun goes all the way into the ocean, leaving a strip of yellow light over the surface. The strip lays there for a good few minutes !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stiigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,085 reviews
559 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Nice views ...”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

When we crossed the Río de la Plata on our trip to BA in 2009 we headed over to Colonia ... very very nice little town ... a lot of tourists but it is still a nice break from BA, which is a bit hectic ...

You get good views of the river, town and countryside ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank METRUN360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alcazares, Spain
Level Contributor
168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Why not?”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you are in Colonia why not go to the lighthouse and get a view of the town and BA. Entrance fee is about 1 dollar. The stairs are very small and there are people going up and down at the same time, which can be a bit annoying. Once you are at the top, it can get crowded, but it does not prevent you from taking good pictures.

You only need about 30 minutes or less for this attraction, so why not?

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PRinBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very desapponting!”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We were very excited about going to this attraction. First of all, we thought it was going to be a big Faro, and it is not like that. But, well, we still wanted to get up and see the awesome view that most of the reviews I read were talking about. We were surprised that they didn't let my 6 year come in. Only 8 year old children and up can do it. We thought it was ridiculous because there is no reason to do that. There was no risk at all. So don't expect a lot if you are traveling with children.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissCasiopea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Faro de Colonia del Sacramento also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Faro de Colonia del Sacramento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing