We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Day!”

The Wine Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Wine Experience will be offering Wine Tours in Colonia that includes: All Transfers, Private Expert Guide & Sommelier, Gourmet Lunch in Carmelo at a Relaix & Chateau Property, Visit to 1 or 2 Historic Wineries, All Tastings, Traditional Uruguayan BBQ at an Estancia that includes a horse ride through the vineyards. Even if you don't drink wine you will get to see the Best of Colonia & Carmelo with beautiful scenery and the ppportunity to meet the Owners & Winemakers face to face. You will be welcomed like an "old friend". Please click on the website for further details, or contact Ryan via the email form. We know you work hard - some come and join us - you deserve it !!
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I were visiting Colonia for 3 days in March 2012 and I am so happy that we booked this trip with Ryan.....it was fantastic. We visited the Bernardi winery in Colonia, Irurtia and Narbona in Carmelo. All were great, but we especially enjoyed our time at Narbona. The grounds are beautiful and our meal delicious. Ryan was so informative about the wineries and areas we visited and we loved getting to know him as well. It felt like we were hanging out with an old pal all day. It didn't hurt that the weather was absolute perfection as well! Great experience, highly recommended!

1  Thank jkreezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear J:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Fabulous Adventure together. We had such fun visiting 3 wineries (one in Colonia and 2 in Carmelo), and it was great to hang out with a young cool couple for the day :)

Gracias totales !!!

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 26 of 26 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights in Colonia and were fortunate enough to secure Ryan for a fantastic day of wine, food, and a trip through the Uruguayan countryside. I can say without a doubt that our day with Ryan was a highlight of our week in South America, and a perfect outing for us as we enjoyed some much needed "alone time" away from our kids!

Ryan was easy to communicate with ahead of time to secure a date, agree on an itinerary and price, and put all the logistics in place. Despite a long drive to Colonia for him, he showed up at our hotel right on time to start our day.

The first stop on our Winelands Adventure was at the small, family-run Bodgea Bernardi where we enjoyed a nice Tannat, sampled their famous Grappas, and snacked on homemade breads with one of the owners. It was a wonderful visit where we almost felt like old friends being welcomed for a visit and to share a drink.

After a relaxing drive through the countryside to Carmelo, we spent the afternoon at Bodega Narbona, for an experience like no other. Narbona is a marvelous winery/restaurant/lodge where no expense has been spared to create an amazing experience for its guests. After a short tour of the winemaking facilities with the winemaker, we enjoyed a private tasting with her in an old cellar. In addition to sampling some wonderful wines, the tasting was paired with several of Narbona's own cheeses and meats. After the tasting, we were taken up to the terrace outside the restaurant for a private lunch, paired with a bottle of wine of our choosing (in our case, the Pinot Noir, a little lighter after a morning of Tannats and Grappas!).

We can offer nothing but compliments for Ryan and the day he put together for us. Its obvious that the we were the beneficiaries of the rapport and friendship he's developed with the local wineries, who did everything they could to make us feel at home. For wine novices like my wife and I, having someone like Ryan to share his expertise with us throughout the day was fantastic and allowed us to learn some of the basics of wine tasting and selection. Beyond the wine aspect of the day, spending the day with Ryan was more like being with an old friend than it was with a tour operator, and made for a light, relaxed day.

1  Thank JonD34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Dear J:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Fabulous Adventure together. The Wine Experience for me is like catching up with old friends, and this tour described it best. I can see you guys coming back sometime soon. Thanks for taking me on vacation :)

Gracias totales !!!

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Ryan took us to two wineries, very different, & very good. The private tours, with him and the sommeliers from each winery was wonderful. We visited Narbona & Bernardi, with a spectacular lunch at Narbona. We were surprised by the quality of the wines, especially those made from the Tannat grape. It was truly one of the best tour and tasting experiences that we have had anywhere. My wife and I would highly recommend the experience and Ryan.

4  Thank ph1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wine7Guy7, Owner at The Wine Experience, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2012

Dear P&J

What a Pleasure... What a Day... What Great Memories !! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Adventure together with TWE. I loved showing you 2 completely different wineries, which is what you want from a Private Wine Tour. It was especially great getting to know you 2 who were so delightful. I loved the Experience... it was an Adventure back in time.... and ever so Romantic i must add ;) I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Happy New Year ;)

Ryan Hamilton
Owner, The Wine Experience
"Promoting, Experiencing & Adventuring"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012
Google Translation

2  Thank Emporio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wine Experience also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to The Wine Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing