We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel and value for money”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel for 2 nights in December 2012. Our general experience was great! Arrived in the morning and since it was before check-in time our lugagge was taken care of and we were offered to use all facilities, especially the pool.
The room we got was spacious and clean, had a little kitchenette which we didn't use and definitely was good value for money (paid roughly $130 usd).
The view from the hotel pool is very nice, good sunset view from the beach just across the street. The walk to the old town is roughly 1.5 km (25min) which may put some people off but was no problem for us.
Breakfast was nice and according to south american standards (toast, ham, cheese, jam, croissants, pastries, yogurt, etc. No eggs although i saw someone ordering eggs at some point).
We had dinner at the hotel as well, good pizzas and also the picada was great. Value for money of the food is also good.
Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clausen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that you had an experience according to your expectations. For us it was a pleasure receiveing you. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you are back in Colonia del Sacramento. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    422
    79
    23
    5
See reviews for
219
679
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a great 3 nights at the Costa Colonia. I can't think of a negative thing to say about this hotel. It is a cool, modern, clean place that would get high marks if it were located anywhere in the world. The price (roughly $150 USD) makes it a good value, too. For some people, the 20 minute walk to the historic district could be a turn-off, but we found the location to be great, with great views of the river, and the walk along the Rambla (into town) relaxing.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a room on a high floor with some view of the water. Also, ask for an upgrade-- we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that your experience at Costa Colonia was up to your expectations.It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a good time. Hope to receive you again if you come back to Colonia del Sacramento. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A newish hotel along the corniche with pretty sunset views of the river. Nice breakfast. Clean spacious rooms with kitchenettes. Taxi rides to the old town were 35 Argentinian pesos (if I remember correctly) about 6-7 dollars. The spa was booked when I stayed there so cannot comment and it was too cool to swim but the pool looked nice. Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: I splurged and got a river view . Worth the difference (since I paid in dollars and got discount, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to know that you had a nice time at Costa Colonia. It was a pleasure receiving you! We'll be expecting you next time you come to Colonia del Sacramento. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel is sleepy like the town, but this place is modern and relatively cheap. very nice pool, but relatively small. so if hotel is in busy season, i imagine it would be hard to get a lounge chair.

the beach accross from hotel is not very impressive. for locals only. this is the case with many south american standards. it is not the carribean..

this is about 15 minute walk from town/ferry. we rented a thrifty golf cart, but it broke on the ride to town.

Room Tip: my regular room had a nice enough view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikez1299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure receiving you. Our doors are open next time you visit Colonia del Sacramento. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed two nights with my husband. The view is beautiful and the rooms are big, clean and very very nice. They even have a kitchenette. The swimming pool area is very nice too and the staff is kind and makes your stay easy and comfortable. The location is okay, since you are not exactly at the historic part of Colonia, which is not a disadvantage since it is usually crowded. It is at a walking distance of around 15 blocks, and it is a very nice walk, bordering the river. The only thing we didn´t like about the hotel was the restaurant, We found it expensive in relation to the food, which was, for us, pretensious, and not good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esthercbuenosaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo L, Director General at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. It pleases us to know that you had a a good stay at Costa Colonia, and that you enjoyed the facilities and services the hotel provides. Regarding the restaurant, on November 1st we had a major renewal on the menu in order to provide our guests the best possible service. Hope to receive you again at Costa Colonia. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Very good all round hotel. New build, so clean with excellent facilities. Staff all very friendly, helpful, very honest and speak good English. Lovely location, on the water about 15 minutes walk from the old town where the restaurants are or about $6US in a taxi. Breakfast not amazing but thats a fairly minor point for such a good hotel and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo L, Director General at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback! It is good to know that you enojoyed your time at Costa Colonia. Regarding breakfast, we realized that it was a service that we needed to improve. So since November 2nd the hotel offers a renewed breakfast. Hope to receive you again, you are always welcome at Costa Colonia! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Nice, clean, modern hotel. Rooms feature a small kitchen area (microwave,micro-fridge, sink, counter), with a dining/comptuer table, and a balcony. Small exercise room, indoor pool, sauna, outdoor pool. Everyhing is boutique size, except the rooms - they're a bit larger than most hotel rooms. Friendly staff, English-speaking.
Downside - further to walk to resturants than I'd prefer. The restaurant hotel is very good, but somewhat higher priced compared to downtown restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSchug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo L, General Manager at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your description of the hotel was very accurate. It was a pleasure hosting you at Costa Colonia. We expect to receive you again very soon. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
674 reviews
1.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
973 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
#16 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel

Property: Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Address: Rambla Costanera | Esquina Torres Garcia y Pedro Figari, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#1 Spa Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Colonia Boutique Hotel is situated in an exceptional setting by Rio de la Plata. Its 60 spacious and cozy rooms offer an ideal blend of modern design, luminosity and stunning river views.The on-site restaurant invites both guests and locals to enjoy an all-day menu and wine bar within a casual and relaxed atmosphere.The hotel Spa features an outdoor pool and a indoor heated swimming pool, wet sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing