We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put on your walking shoes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, it was very empty during the week but weekends filled up. This hotel is quite stylish,all hard surfaces of concrete, tile and wood panelling, consequently most noise echoes which was fine when empty but. was more noticeable when occupancy increased. The. reception staff were pleasant , english levels varied from very little to good. Our room on the forth floor had a lovely outlook of the water, with balcony chairs to enjoy the sunset (bring the mozzie repellent). The room was spacious with comfortable king sized bed, good linens and pillows. Kitchenette was barely stocked with only 2 of each ( cutlery, plates, mugs and wine glasses), no corkscrew or sharp knife. or microwave safe dishes. Fridge, microwave and kettle. Bathroom contained a good shower, basin and bidet inside and basin outside. All very clean some toiletries provided , no tissues. The hotel has two heated pools one inside and one out, spa facility and business rooms. Breakfast was ordinary as was our evening meal (pizza and fish) though not expensive. The town centre is a good walk or taxi is $6. We enjoyed the walk. All in all a good hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the better with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glensy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo L, General Manager at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments! We do take them in account and work hard to improve and give our guests the best possible stay. It was a pleasure receiveing you at Costa Colonia and we hope to see you again very soon! Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel is modern and comfortable with wonderful staff. Our room was big with a lovely view. It is not in the old town, but the 15 minute walk along the river was pleasant.
For a taxi to Montevideo we recommend Remise - 45227172. It was the only reasonably priced service with an excellent car and driver!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pablo L, General Manager at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you for you comments! The staff at Costa Colonia works hard to give our guests the best possible stay. It was a pleasure receveing you, our doors remain open for your next trip to Colonia. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is amazing! We were granted an upgrade on our arrival and our rooms faced the beautiful river. The sunset was a daily show. The rooms are clean and the decor is very “boutique“ and modern. The pool and gym area are very good for a relaxing moment after walking Colonia‘s streets. Breakfast was plentifull and yummy! The hotel location is close to the rambla, but far from the historic city center. A cab-ride from de hotel there is about $U 120. I truly recommend this hotel! Very romantic!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_Mey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apedros, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you very much or your review!
Seems you got Colonia "right", here is the ideal spot to relax, chill, walk by La Rambla and enjoy the sunset over the river.

We hope you come back to visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

We just had 2 nights in Colonia, and after a week in buenoa Aires we wanted to treat ourselves to a nice break.

Based on the reviews on TripAdvisor we chose the Cost Colonia, and decided to upgrade ourselves to a suite .

Was a great choice.

While its slightly out of town, the reception can have a taxi waiting for you in 5 mins, and it's only around US$5-8 for the taxi into town.

The hotel seems really new and modern, quite funky. The staff are just lovely and so accommodating, couldn't do enough for us.

Our room WA great! Big living area and a large King bed in the bedroom. It's very modern and relaxing, with a sofa bed which is great for snuggling up in fronts the tv.

The restaurant does a great pizZa and gnocchi for lunch, and the continental breakfast is pretty good! Again, the staff were helpful and up for a chat.

Had a massage as well, which is great value and nice and relaxing.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apedros, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Thank you very much or your comments!!

We are glad to know guests appreciate our hotel, design, service and hospitality.
Just like you wrote, is the ideal place to watch the sunset and also snuggle up by the couch to watch TV.

We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a very good choice for those going for a relaxing visit to Colonia. The rooms are very spacious. There is a small kitchenette and a separate sitting area. The room opens into a balcony from where you can enjoy good views of the Rio de la Plata.

The lady at the front desk was very helpful. When we had an issue with the room we got, she promptly moved us and even walked with me to the new room to ensure that we would have no issues. She then immediately sent housekeeping to make up the extra bed since there were three of us traveling.

Breakfast was okay, at par with most breakfasts we have had in other hotels in South America. The wifi was of good enough speed and more importantly, free.

One thing that should be noted is that this is not inside the Old Town. It is outside but within reasonable walking distance for those fit enough. Otherwise, you might look at having a taxi pick you up.

All in all, this is a good choice for some rest and relaxation in the beautiful town of Colonia.

Room Tip: Go for the ones with the Rio de la Plata views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sleepyinsomniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Lovely. Restaurant was overpriced, but breakfast (usually included) was worth the $7.50. Bathroom was fantastic, though there was a little step up which made it easy to stub your toe. Little kitchenette was nice to have, though the microwave was fussy (we did not ask for a replacement). We lost hot water one night, but the staff response was quite good. They have a terrific little indoor pool and sauna. The rooms with a view are worth the extra money -- great sunset. A bit far out of town, but if you rent a car or cart, plenty close enough. If it had been a bit warmer, we would have walked to and from the historical district.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: River view cost more, but worth it. Note that the balconies are not private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlaBourland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This extremely pleasant new hotel is ideally situated on the edge of historical Colonia. Decor is wooden, in very much the Scandinavian style. Rooms are spacious with a kitchen area and good sized balconies. Wi fi is available throughout the hotel Although views are limited from some rooms, there is a small swimming pool, adjacent to the dining room, overlooking the River Plate. Majority of the staff speak English, are friendly and cooperative. Would recommend taking the buffet breakfast earlier, rather than later, as the dining room is smallish and becomes crowded later in the session. The 'old quarter' is within easy walking distance, along pleasant pavements. However this can be rather hot at the height of summer. Reception are happy to arrange a local taxi to collect you from the hotel and advise the driver of your required destination. Normal waiting time for a taxi is around 10 minutes. Should the opportunity arise, would happily stay in the Costa Colinia again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river or facing westward over the local countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thommos54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
#15 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
461 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: Rambla Costanera | Esquina Torres Garcia y Pedro Figari, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Colonia Boutique Hotel is situated in an exceptional setting by Rio de la Plata. Its 60 spacious and cozy rooms offer an ideal blend of modern design, luminosity and stunning river views.The on-site restaurant invites both guests and locals to enjoy an all-day menu and wine bar within a casual and relaxed atmosphere.The hotel Spa features an outdoor pool and a indoor heated swimming pool, wet sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing