We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sur Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort(Colonia del Sacramento)
$184
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites(Colonia del Sacramento)
$110
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Plaza Mayor(Colonia del Sacramento)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada El Viajero(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada de la Flor(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Perla del Plata Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
54
68
32
14
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
68
32
14
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 175 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Sur Hostel was a great and good surprise on my trip to Colonia del Sacramento. I stayed there only one night, but it was a great experience. The rooms are wide with good beds and heater. The bathroom is very clean! There is a fireplace where you can warm up on the winter and talk with other guests. I also appreciate the breakfast. It's a hostel with the comfort of a hotel and a excellent environment to meet new people.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank willemarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a great hostel which had everything we needed. Our room was spacious with a street view and heating, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was regularly cleaned. The communal areas were nice, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllyBlaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here! Nacho greeted us and made me feel very welcome! The rooms are simple and large. The window shades are actually metal so they are very good for blocking out noise and light! Bath towels are not included but they do have them. In the winter it may be a little cold in the rooms but they have a few heaters. You just can't sleep with the heaters on because of the carbon monoxide. The only inconvenience was that hot water went off when I was in the shower and that the hostel was cold since they dont have central heat, giving this place a 4 instead of a 5.
Use of the kitchen is included and they have a lovely fireplace!

Room Tip: During the slow season you may get a dorm room to yourself!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprueitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A great hostel in this small, historic town. Tons of good-sized common areas inside in addition to a cool rooftop patio and courtyard area outside. Staff is amazingly friendly. A big place. Lots of hard surfaces, so it can get loud with the echos, etc., but not bad. Plenty of bathrooms, dorm rooms are big. Breakfast is fine, and they serve a different dinner each night of the week that you can partake in for a few extra pesos.

I had a great time.

Longer review here: http://followabbie.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/review-sur-hostel-in-colonia-del-sacramento-uruguay/

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A home away from home they call it and we really felt like in an apartment of friends... Check-In was in the living room, where the reception-desk is – quite uncomplicated. We arrived on a Saturday and they were just starting with their asado. There was enough food that we could join them and got a great meal in the patio for 150 Uruguayan Pesos! What a start! Our double room was very basic but clean. There are only two small bathrooms but it worked well even if there were quite a lot of people at the hostel when we stayed there. Breakfast was ready in the kitchen in the mornings, kind of a small buffet with toasts, flakes, fruits, coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews