We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean hostel!”
Review of Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sur Hostel
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here! Nacho greeted us and made me feel very welcome! The rooms are simple and large. The window shades are actually metal so they are very good for blocking out noise and light! Bath towels are not included but they do have them. In the winter it may be a little cold in the rooms but they have a few heaters. You just can't sleep with the heaters on because of the carbon monoxide. The only inconvenience was that hot water went off when I was in the shower and that the hostel was cold since they dont have central heat, giving this place a 4 instead of a 5.
Use of the kitchen is included and they have a lovely fireplace!

Room Tip: During the slow season you may get a dorm room to yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aprueitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 41 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

A great hostel in this small, historic town. Tons of good-sized common areas inside in addition to a cool rooftop patio and courtyard area outside. Staff is amazingly friendly. A big place. Lots of hard surfaces, so it can get loud with the echos, etc., but not bad. Plenty of bathrooms, dorm rooms are big. Breakfast is fine, and they serve a different dinner each night of the week that you can partake in for a few extra pesos.

I had a great time.

Longer review here: http://followabbie.wordpress.com/2012/05/22/review-sur-hostel-in-colonia-del-sacramento-uruguay/

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABwanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A home away from home they call it and we really felt like in an apartment of friends... Check-In was in the living room, where the reception-desk is – quite uncomplicated. We arrived on a Saturday and they were just starting with their asado. There was enough food that we could join them and got a great meal in the patio for 150 Uruguayan Pesos! What a start! Our double room was very basic but clean. There are only two small bathrooms but it worked well even if there were quite a lot of people at the hostel when we stayed there. Breakfast was ready in the kitchen in the mornings, kind of a small buffet with toasts, flakes, fruits, coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChMBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

In all of my months traveling the land of Central and South America, this is easily one of the best if not the best hostel I've stayed at.
Staff are incredibly friendly and kind, more like your best friends for the weekend. Helpful and eager to show you around Colonia.
Rooms are generously sized, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is decent, fresh fruit which is a huge plus.
It's located just a few blocks from the beautiful old part of the city, 3 blocks from a beach, meters from a good street food vendor.
It's really easy to meet other people in the common space, cook together and hang out on the terrace upstairs.
Has the classic hostel feel. From grungy backpackers to people who are looking for a more comfortable stay. Don't miss this place! And don't underestimate Colonia either! It has a beautiful relatively undiscovered laguna, plethora of nice restaurants, beautiful beaches and lots of sights.
Stay an extra day, if you can!!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with floor to ceiling windows. Beautiful sunrises and effective window shades for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a decent hostel in a beautiful town. The staff are really laid back and helpful and there is a really nice communal area. The wifi only really works in this area so it means that everyone hangs around the lounge area. There is also a really nice rooftop patio with chairs and tables to have lunch or sunbathe, and to wash and dry clothes too.
We stayed in a double room, and it was large, with decent furniture. We were given sheets when we arrived and had to make our own bed, but the bed was comfortable. The room was a little noisy, the doors seem to slam when people come in and out, and we could hear some street noise too.
The bathrooms need a little attention, they are a bit shabby and could do with being cleaned a little more frequently, but nothing disgusting.
The hostel doesn't provide towels with the rate, which is a shame, and there's nowhere in the room to hang up your towel, which would be useful.
The breakfast was good, first place we've stayed for a long time which provided fruit!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

we stayed there for a night.
the location was quite good. it's close to the bus and ferry terminal.
the people working there was kind, too.

however, although we stayed in the private room, there was no bathroom inside.
i knew that when i made the reservation... but still it wasn't convenient..
but the worst thing happend during the night.
i don't know what happend there.. but because of terrible noise motorcycles made during the night, we couldn;t sleep at all.
the day we stayed was friday. maybe it happend that night only.. or it was normal during the weekend... i don't know... but although i'm not a sensitive person at all, seriously couldn't sleep at all!!

Room Tip: don't remember the room number.. but the room was at your right right after the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butterwaffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Spent only one night here passing though from Buenos Aires to Montevideo, really all you need to see Colonia. The rooms are big with nice huge windows which are necessary in the summer as it is VERY hot and no a/c. Nice bathrooms, good kitchen and a decent breakfast included in price consisting of great fresh bread, jams, fruit and coffee. Everything is spotlessly clean. The staff are friendly. A/C in the rooms would be a great addition :) A bit pricey but that's Colonia and Uruguay in general it seems.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
983 reviews
3 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Mision
La Mision
#21 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel ROMI
Hotel ROMI
#18 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#2 of 37 in Colonia del Sacramento
879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Hostel & Suites de Rio
#6 of 37 in Colonia del Sacramento
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Hostel

Address: Rivadavia 448, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $32 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Hotwire so you can book your Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing