We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Galope Farm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Galope Farm & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay at the Galope Farm”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The Galope farm is the perfect place for a weekend gataway in the lovely Uruguayan countryside.
The hosts, Miguel and Monica, are very welcoming and give you useful tips about the place and its surroundings. I particularly recommend you Monica's cuisine and her tasty cheese fondue, completly unexpected in the Uruguay countryside!
And despite the bad weather, the horse riding part was also very good. It has indeed been interesting even as an experienced rider as the horses are very well trained, motivated and dynamic!
Thank you a lot!!
Delphine

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delphine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thnak you for your review and rating. it was nice having you here too.
All the best
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
91
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had a great time at el Galope. Miguel and Monica are very friendly lovely people. They make you feel at home at their beautiful house. Monica's cooking is delicious, her paintings beautiful. Miguel gave us the real horseriding experience, starting with a very good lesson and then al lovely trip through the fields. El Galope has been one of the best experiences we've had in South America.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I9864LQanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. Thanks for the compliments!! We also enjoyed sharing our lives with you.
All the best
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

El Galope is a charming and quaint horse ranch about an hour outside of Colonia. We arrived at the Valdense bus terminal and got into the taxi arranged by the owners, who drove us 10 minutes through wide open fields to the hostel. We were greeted by Monica & Miguel and their friendly dogs, shown to our rooms (2 people per room which is a nice change from dorm rooms in usual hostel settings), and given and introduction to what we could do during our stay.

Breakfast is served free of charge and lunch and dinner are prepared for $10-20, depending on the meal. You can also purchase beer, amazing wine and other drinks for a reasonable price. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean with nice bedding for a comfortable sleep.

The best part was a quiet stay in a beautiful setting and getting to know the other guests....very family like. We didn't ride horses but heard it was a great time for only $45 including a lesson. Our only negative experience were the masses of mosquitoes that were out - we could hardly be outside. (But Monica explained this isn't normal).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allisonsnyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and rating. We also enjoyed your visit. Sorry about the delay to answer.
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Had a great stay at El Galope. The horses are all in great condition, and are a fun ride even as an experienced rider, which really makes a difference. The location is lovely, quiet and very natural. Miguel is exceptionally friendly and knowledgable - we had some great chats about Uruguay as a country and he sent on some great tips for visiting the rest of the country.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwin246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi
Thank you for your review and sorry about the delayed answer. Fortunatelly the mosquito cloud left us after a few days!!! Now back to normal enjoying a sunny winter next to the fireplace that burns all day long. The nights are very cold but very clear and stary, wonderful to enjoy after sauna sesions!!!
All the best to you
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

From the warm welcome to the heartfelt good-bye, our stay at hostel Galope felt like visiting friends on their ranch.

As a hostel, Galope is great. Monica is a terrific cook, or you can cook for yourself in the well equipped kitchen. (there are even tea cups that look like grandma´s). The main room has a big table and comfy couches perfect for meeting other guests. There are even cuddly cats.

If you have an interest in horses it gets even better! Miguel is a master at providing a great riding experience for novices as well as experts. It´s clear that he loves his horses. We´ve participated in six or seven riding programs during our South America trip, and Miguel´s introductory lesson was the best we´ve seen. He´s also rigorous about safety, without letting safety get in the way of fun. For example he insists on riding helmets. The horses are great too, responsive, energetic, and yet tranquillo.

My favorite part was learning from Miguel all about horses, Uruguay politics and Uruguay´s economy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi,
This answer comes late!!! Thank you and we also felt as if you were family or friends visiting. Now it is really cold but sunny. Mornings and nights are cold but the sky is so clear. Time for reading next to the fireplace or just sharing with other guests.
All the best to you both
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I had such a wonderful stay at el galope. The place is beautiful, rooms clean and spacious, breeakfast with delicious homemade jam. You are surrounded by beautiful nature and peacefulness. This is the perfect place to stay and relax. I wish I could have stayed longer. Monica and Miguel are excellent guests, they spoiled their guests and helped me with bus ticket reservation, gives me information for places to visit nearby and places on the Uruguayan costs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. We have recieved another Cerificate of Excelence by Trip Advisor. I have just found out that's why I comment with you. No effort, we just enjoy what we do and people and I guess that shows.
All the best to you
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I liked the especially warm and cozy atmosphere all around the house and farm, it just makes it so easy to meet friends and talk to each other for beautiful, unforgettable memories. The surroundings are picturesque, the beds comfortable and the food very good. Unfortunately, coming from Europe, cheese fondue which is a local specialty is not so impressive. The horses are good, the bikes are bad (but the owners warn you), and you could avoid the visit to the "nearby" cheese maker. Hint: the red wine doesn't leave a hangover the next day. Thanks for all, Miguel and Monica!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elenouska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Sorry about the delayed answer and thank you for your comment. Good news: We do not have the terrible bikes any more. There is a bus to town and to the beach now!!
We are haveing a wonderful sunny winter next to the fireplace, and enjoying sauna
All the best
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
39.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
658 reviews
39.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
899 reviews
39.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.7 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,072 reviews
39.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
829 reviews
39.2 mi away
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Hostel & Suites de Rio
#5 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galope Farm & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galope Farm & Hostel

Property: El Galope Farm & Hostel
Address: Camino Concordia, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hostel Horse Farm with green fields and relaxation Get away from it all. A RESTFUL STOPOVER. Small Hostel Farm Located in Colonia. Green fields, peace, tranquility,horses, bikes, books, and good wine. Ecological sun water heaters. In winter fondue, fireplace and sauna. We speak German, French, English and Spanish. Traveling is in our souls! We know how important it is to have a rest in your trip. Monica and Miguel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Galope Farm & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galope Farm & Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing