We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great people.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Galope Farm & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Galope Farm & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, great people.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I loved staying at Galope, it is a lovely place, great horses, very kind owners, great food. Thanks, Miguel and Monica for perfect two days. I had a very good time and for sure will come back.
All the best for you...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilvieR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thak you for your review.
All the best to you too
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
89
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The farm was nice and cozy and Monica and Miguel are great!
Great food and friendly atmosphere =)
We went for a ride with Miguel and got to help with the grooming of the horses before we went out. Miguel was a great teacher, and the ride was fantastic!
The rooms are nice and clean. We had cheese fondue for dinner, very good!!
We highly recommend the farm for a stay! Our only regret was that we couldn´t stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ME1251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. You could try coming in winter. It is not like in Sweden here.
Days are sunny and the nights are cold but with very clear stary nights, perfect to enjoy after the sauna or for staying inside chatting with guests or just reading a book. The fireplace is burning all day long!!
I love winter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

El Galope is a beautiful, peaceful farm. Monica and Miguel are very friendly, and both speak really good English. The horses are gorgeous. It is obvious how much they are loved, and they are so well looked after. They only have a small number of horses, which is fabulous, as you are never just number 10 horse, in a row of 15 like you are at some trail riding establishments. Miguel gives a good lesson, and all the people I rode with loved their experience. The food was great. A simple, but big breakfast. One night we had an asado which was fabulous. It is just a great place to relax for a few days, and to go for a ride, whether you are a beginner, or experienced.
They organised a taxi to pick me up in Colonia Valdense, and again to take me back to the bus station. This system worked perfectly.
Be aware their is no air conditioning, however they do have some pedestal fans for the rooms. The rooms are comfy, and the shower was fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi, perhaps you should try winter. It is wonderful now. Sunny days. Cool clear stary nights. Perfect for sauna or to stay inside by the fireplace with a book or friends. Fondue and wine go perfect with this weather too.
Al the best
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I only had time to stay one night at El Galope, but I had a great time. Really nice food, beautiful place and amazing horses. I am a vegetarian and it was no problem. I am a experienced rider and I was very happy to have a nice ride on nice horses (which is sometimes hard to find). Urko is an amazing horse! I also really liked the milking station nearby and I loved feeding the calves!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonievanHaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Urko is my favourite too!!! The foals have grown a lot and are very gentle and we are training them.
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Beautiful place, very nice owners. The place is an oasis and a perfect place to spend few, or more, days. Owners make delicious food and give very good tips for Uruguay travels. Horses and dogs are very well taken care of and Miguel, the owner, seems to be a real gaucho. Would stay again definitely! And a very good Finnish sauna!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itikka2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi,
Sauna feels even better now with this clear stary cold nights.
We are now seriously training the two foals that are beatiful and growing.
All the best to you
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We loved staying at El Galope. It's a quaint little house on land with 3 gorgeous dogs and lots of beautiful horses. We spent our time reading under the tree, drinking wine and eating cheese, and we visited the milking station down the road and got to play with the baby calves! Such a relaxing place and great to have some time out away from the city. Miguel the owner was lovely, always very helpful and willing to have a chat! He even made us some mate to try! The house was gorgeous, room and bathroom clean, beds comfortable and kitchen was well equipped! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teepaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your comment and rating. Now it is winter but it is beautiful too, with the fireplace, sauna and good fondue and wine.
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Really enjoyed my time at Galope, everyone was friendly including all the other guests around the communal dinner table. Definitely ride the horses, so well trained and Miguel will take good care of you on the ride. "Mundaka" was a great horse and went easy on me. Up at 5am for a 5:30 am start to beat the heat and returned to the hostel around 10:30 for breakfast so great value I think.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GingaNinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for your review. Sooner we will have two other well trained horses. We are working on the two foals and they are very kind already.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia del Sacramento
38.8 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
40.3 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
39.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Estancia Finca Piedra
Estancia Finca Piedra
#8 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
39.2 mi away
El Viajero Hostel Suites Colonia
El Viajero Hostel Suites Colonia
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
9.9 mi away
Estancia Turistica Don Miguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galope Farm & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galope Farm & Hostel

Property: El Galope Farm & Hostel
Address: Camino Concordia, Colonia del Sacramento 70202, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hostel Farm with green fields and relaxation Get away from it all. A RESTFUL STOPOVER. Small Hostel Farm Located in Colonia. Green fields, peace, tranquility,horses, bikes, books, and good wine. Ecological sun water heaters. In winter fondue, fireplace and sauna. We speak German, French, English and Spanish. Traveling is in our souls! We know how important it is to have a rest in your trip. Monica and Miguel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Galope Farm & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galope Farm & Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing