We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place in the gorgeous Uruguayan countryside!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Galope Farm & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in the gorgeous Uruguayan countryside!”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in El Galope hostel. Miguel and Monica were so kind and welcoming, and when we arrived in the middle of the night there was a cup of tea waiting for us! We had been having a tough first week (I was without my rucksack) and they were so helpful making calls for us and doing everything to help. The place and the surrounding countryside are absolutely beautiful and so peaceful after being in the city. We went horseriding with Miguel which was fantastic, and had a traditional sauna in the evening!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alicemclachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments and hope to see you again some time.
Cheers
Migueland Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
92
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

My decision to stay here was based upon the need to get away from the touristiness of Colonia del Sacramento. Miguel and Monica were perfect hosts from the moment that I contacted them with my reservation enquiry, no request was too great for them.

I was picked up at the designated bus stop and driven to the lovely farm, where I was greeted by several animals and a warm fireplace. The dorm room was welcoming and spacious, with only 2 beds. The beds were a great way to relax after a tiring day of cycling or exploring their farm and the surrounding countryside. The hostel is about 5km from the nearest town, which means that getting supplies to cook your own food can be hard, but Monica has that covered with delicious home-cooked food for lunch and dinner. There was also the possibility of purchasing wine, beer, cheese (must try!) and other food.

For me, staying at El Galope was all about relaxing after chaotic Buenos Aires, and I managed to do just that.

The only negatives that I would point out is that in winter, the rooms can get very cold (thankfully they provided a portable heater), and hot water in the shower can take a long time to come, if it does at all; but that's all about living in the countryside! Monica and Miguel were very hospitable hosts nonetheless. I had a great stay here and wouldn't hesitate recommending it or returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonnoCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We have good news! We have installed new heaters in every room this winter. They are very efficient. We have become also more efficient managing the solar water heater so if you come again it will be perfect this time!! There is also a new bus to town and to the beach that stops at El Galope gate.
All the best
Cheers
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I stayed there for about 24 hours. Everything was perfect. They are so incredible friendly!!!! I had a great horse riding trip, superb dinner and even a sauna was available!!
Food is so good: everything is home-made from the farms around El Galope. My room was grat, too, very nice decoration, great beds.....

and it is thrue, you definetely want to stay longer than you planned!

Thank you EL GALOPE!

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Naelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your comment. It was nice having you at home!! I wish we could go for a horseback ride in Versaille and visit you too. I am sure it would be an unforgettable experience too.
Cheers
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We originally booked 3 nights and then extended our stay and if we could have afforded the flight back from Brazil, we would have gone back....and are already planning a visit early next year...that pretty much sums up how much we rated 'El Galope'. We were travelling for 6 months and this was one of two of our favourite places to stay. Not only is the setting and accomodation just beautiful, for us, it really was Monica and Miguel that made this the bees knees, certainly one of those hidden gems you don't really want to tell anyone about but do because it's a 'must stay'. We cycled, rode, walked to the nearby goat farm and bought cheese, lazed around in the sun with the occasional dip in the plunge pool....we ate some of the best food in our entire trip, (Monica and Miguel are fantastic cooks!)...we loved it and although it's a cliché but you really did feel like part of the family!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lululock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
It's been more than a year but anyway I would like to thank you for your comment that together with other guest- firends who stayed with us made it possible to obtain a Trip Advisor Excellence Certificate.
We did not know such certificate existed, we just did what we always do, open the door of our house and share the things we consider important and mostly enjoy life with our guests.
All the best
Miguel and Monica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We came here after four hectic and noisy days in Buenos Aires and could not have found a more perfect place to relax. El Galope is about 50km outside of Colonia on a farm in pretty much the middle of nowhere (perfect for star gazing), the owners pick you up from the bus stop. Miguel and Monica who run this place are fantastic and provide you with great food (breakfast is included and you can pay for other meals if you don't want to cook yourself) in a lovely place. The barn has a great living room area with a big dining table where all the guests can eat together, comfy sofas, an open fire and a typical asado in the kitchen. Rooms are clean and comfortable as are the bathrooms. We had a great 2 days here reading books, riding the pretty old and dreadful bikes you can hire there (1 USD per hour), walking and visiting the local town (worth the 6km on the bikes) and having fun meeting the other guests over lunch and dinner. Miguel even introduced us to mate.

 If I'm honest I am disappointed we did not stay longer but we had to fit so much more into our trip. Definitely not a place to party but great to hang out with other guests and Miguel and Monica who were fantastic hosts. Cannot recommend highly enough!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandNs_bigadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you very much for such high comments. We also enjoyed your stay. Now it is colder than when you stayed, but the sauna and fondue with wine round the fireplace make it really warm!
Good news: There is a small bus to town and to the beach if you do not feel like riding the bikes!
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
39.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
663 reviews
38.7 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,083 reviews
39.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.2 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
365 reviews
39.2 mi away
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Hostel & Suites de Rio
#5 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
228 reviews
39.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galope Farm & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galope Farm & Hostel

Property: El Galope Farm & Hostel
Address: Camino Concordia, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hostel Horse Farm with green fields and relaxation Get away from it all. A RESTFUL STOPOVER. Small Hostel Farm Located in Colonia. Green fields, peace, tranquility,horses, bikes, books, and good wine. Ecological sun water heaters. In winter fondue, fireplace and sauna. We speak German, French, English and Spanish. Traveling is in our souls! We know how important it is to have a rest in your trip. Monica and Miguel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Galope Farm & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galope Farm & Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing