We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a predinner”
Review of El Buen Suspiro

El Buen Suspiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: Wine Bar, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We offer a local cuisine based on the best artisanal products of Colonia, in the most emblematic street of the old quarter of Colonia del Sacramento, the “Barrio Sur”, a World Heritage site, in a typical house of Portuguese construction of early 1700s. Wines of local vineyards, artisanal cheeses, homemade jams, olive oil, spirits, grappas, and typical pastries are part of the menu, to take or to taste at the store. Whether in a small and intimate room or at the courtyard, you can taste different appetizers based on a selection of artisanal local cheeses served with sweet and sour sauces, combined with salami, sausages, ham, vegetable tarts, and chicken brochette. In winter, homemade soups of onion or pumpkin; in summer, salads.
Bainbridge Island WA
Level Contributor
224 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Nice place for a predinner”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Great wine selection and some tasty cheese, meats etc that are local to CDS. Due to the size of the place and the small number of choices on the menu, we did not chose this place for dinner.
Definitely unique and worth a visit, would make a great lunch or happy hour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,103
    463
    95
    23
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tiny Gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Tiny little place that looks like a wine cellar and has enough room for about 5-6 tables. But what a delightful surprise! We tasted great Uruguyan wines and local cheeses and brought some wine and salsas home with us and went back before we left Colonia. Go for the wine tasting menu and the cheeses and accompaniments go with it. The onion soup and the pumpkin soup were delightful. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable about the food. A great dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Awahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Maunganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambience”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Best place for a meal in Uruguay, you will find it not far from the entrance. You may have to duck to get I the door but you will be pleased you entered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolute gem - paradise for lovers of wine and local produce”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great option located in the Calle de los Suspiros, in an old Portuguese house from the first colonial period. Small cosy stone walled rooms with heavy beams, walls of wine and an open fire. Simple menu consisting of a range of different sharing platters made up of local cheeses, cured meats, tarts and chutneys, as well as hot options such as soups and lasagne. Wine to buy, wine to drink, wine degustation menus to sample a range of local varieties. Perfect recipe for a slow afternoon or cosy evening. As well as high quality produce and a charming set up, the venue was notable for the excellent staff who went out of their way to understand and meet your needs - in Spanish, Portuguese and perfect English if required. Really recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful ambiance, a hidden treasure”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant wandering down Calle de los Suspiros. The door is very small and there is nothing on the outside that screams GO INSIDE. However, if you do happen to pop through this small door you will enter a charming world of intimate tables, walls of wine and great service. We spent the afternoon sharing a bottle of wine and a picado with local cheeses and cold cuts all of which were of excellent quality as was the service. While I would recommend going here under any and all circumstances, I think the environment it presents is particularly conducive to small groups of approximately 3. As if this was not already a must go restaurant, the menu was extraordinarily reasonably priced. All in all, this was one of the most enjoyable afternoons I have spent and I HIGHLY recommend it to everyone passing through Colonia.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Doublek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Buen Suspiro also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Buen Suspiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing