We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonia Suite Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
buenos aires
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place, nice people”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed there for a weekend with a couple of friends. We took the Frida Kahlo room. The room was clean, confortable and nice decorated, like the rest of the house.
The only issue was that upstairs there's another room with wooden floor and the first night a couple with a little kid was staying there. The kid kept running through the room at 6 am and made some noise that woke me up and disturbed me a little. Out of this, the lady in charge of the kitchen is just great, and so is the breakfast. She offered us some extra sandwiches to take away. Very friendly and relaxing place, very well located just a few blocks from the Buquebus port and a few blocks from the main streets of Colonia.

Room Tip: Higher floors might have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grim916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    70
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
75
265
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The ferry ride from. BA took us to the lovely quite village of Colonia. The Colonia Suites were just perfect. No cookie cutter rooms just well thought out large rooms with attention to detail and character. Great bed, flat screen and all that but more importantly individual styling very well done.
Jackie greeted us and Fred joined in at breakfast welcoming some Americans who didn't speak the language with grace. Thank you we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladensack22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were charmed by the place. It has very warm atmosphere, beautiful views, very comfortable, spacy and airy rooms. Breakfast in the garden adds to the beauty of the place and is great by itself: fresh orange juice, breads, cheeses, jam and butter - everything reminds you of leisure and relaxing country life style making your vacation more significant.
The Colonia Suite B&B host Fred puts a lot of effort to make this comfortable house real home for the visitors. He is very helpful in giving recommendations and directions. Interior design of the room we stayed in is superb, with great taste and love to detail.
We would highly recommend this place to all our friends who plan to visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I escaped BA for three nights and ended up here at Colonia Suites and it was a great
experience. Continental breakfast in the garden out back and a lovely, peaceful room. Fred was a charm to deal with, suggesting restaurants and city highlights. The common area was warm and inviting and had no shortage of art books to peruse. All in all I would highly recommend Colonia Suites. We had the second floor room overlooking the street (quite) but the second floor room over looking the garden looked the best. Ten minute walk from the BA ferry.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We were at Colonia Suite for two nights and we had as good a stay as possible.The rooms are clean and well decorated and the service is friendly and efficient. Our host, Fred, is a lovely man, who responds to one`s demands without being intrusive, not to mention that one can see he thought about each single plant he planted in the cosy backyard. High Quality b&b!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in late November and were absolutely thrilled with this relaxed but perfectly appointed b&b. Centrally located near all the restaurants and attractions of the old city but off the main drag and very quiet at night. The Argentinian owner and his partner are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was simple and wonderful- served out in the garden if the sun is shining. The rooms were huge and comfortable, with the plushest towels I experienced in our three weeks in Uruguay, two couches and a super snuggly bed. Very much wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CerezaYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently rented two of the three suites in this B&B during a four day family holiday over New Year's. All of us were extremely pleased with our accommodations: both rooms were spacious and included sitting areas, a small sink and frig. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and well appointed. There is also a pretty communal area for reading or conversation. Fred was an especially patient, helpful and charming host and his lovely B&B made our terrific stay in Colonia all the better. We enjoyed breakfast in a walled garden in the morning and often returned there later in the day to read and enjoy a glass of wine. Not to be missed if you are spending any time in this charming town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Suite Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Suite Apartments

Property: Colonia Suite Apartments
Address: Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonia Suite Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Suite is situated on the Colonia center, between the ferry terminal and the historic quarter. The building is an old renovated house from 1900. It has 3 suites and 1 bungalow suite, a garden and a big living room. Equipement: 1 doble bed ,1 lit de repos, cafetera electrica, small refrigerador , dishes, air conditioning, towels, hairdryer, sheets, TV, We offer an excelent breakfast and a brunch service until 7 pm. There are lots of art works, and a art library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Colonia Suite Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Suite Apartments Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing