We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colonia Suite Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Fred and Jackie were very welcoming and friendly and made every effort to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts were amazing! Our two children (4 and 5 years of age) were well looked after too, even though they were not the quietest of guests! I would definitely recommend staying here when you are in Colonia.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank KateG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
There are newer reviews for Colonia Suite Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 424 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

Very stylish, great breakfast in the garden, very good location, very friendly staff. We had great weather but my only fear would be it could get cold in the room on cold nights as the place isn't the most airtight. Overall very good place

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Absolutely loved Colonia Suite. The owner, Fred, was a fantastic host and the property is beatiful.

The room was huge and well appointed, even had a little kitchenette area. Breakfast was great with croissants, jams, and of course all of the fixings for a chivita.

Fred was extremely helpful, he even offered to give us some money as we were having trouble with some of the ATM machines in town! (we ended up getting some though).

I would definitely return, but would stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VilniusSchoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Some weeks ago I went to Colonia with my girlfriend in order to fly away from Buenos Aires and relax some days. We spent are ally awesome time (not literally; it basically rained the three days we stayed there!) and mainly thanks to Fred and Jackie. Since the very first moment we entered into this lovely hotel, we felt as we were at home. Excellent hospitality + incredible decoration + oustanding breakfast + good location (just 5 minutes away from the old town) is the perfect combination!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomasGRuegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while we passed through Colonia del Sacramento, however we both wished we had more time in our schedule to stay longer.

To begin with, the B&B is in an excellent location for walking around Colonia and visiting the places in town. It is also a very quick walk (5-10 minutes) from the boat (from B.A.) to the B&B.

The B&B itself is adorable, with a lot of detail and touches put into the place. Our room was on the second floor and faced the backyard garden. It had a lovely little patio with table and chairs if you wanted to sit outside your room. The bedroom itself was much larger than I expected it to be, and it was lovely.

The owners were incredibly gracious and accommodating. I have a gluten intolerance and they went out of their way to find goods (ex., cookies, crackers...) that I could eat with the breakfast. They also gave recommendations for activities to do in town, all of which we enjoyed.

If we return to Colonia, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were in Colonia Suite during december 2011 and it was really a fantastic choice while staying in Uruguay.
The place is defined as a B&B, but I think is quite more better than the average places under this category around the world. I say it is a unique Boutique hotel in Uruguay, with the personal touch of the owner on design furniture choice for decoration. It is a recycled antique colonial style building, with the most beautifull decoration inside.

He is in every detail, from gentle check in of guests, to the farewell, giving you many advices and even helping to prepare the nice breackfast.

It's very strategically located at three blocks from Colonia del Sacramento Port, so if you're coming from Argentina by ferry, is just perfect. There is no restaurant inside, but there many different options around, in a walking distance.

It's about 10 blocks from the historial neighbourhood, which perfect in winter and summer.

Best option in Uruguay!

Room Tip: Take the upstairs front room! You will have the fantastic sunset in your balcony in the morning!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leonardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Colonia Suite stands as one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed. The house, the commom areas, kitchen and the three rooms are very beautiful, confortable and stylish. The pictures on their website really reflects the reality. The breakfast is delicious, with bread, milk, coffee, natural orange juice, jams, butter, honey, cereals, fruits, sandwiches, yoghurt, etc etc. The owners, Jaky and Fred, are very friendly, helpful and honest people. They helped us with everything we need giving us information about all the things to do and places to visit in the department of Colonia. In the morning we had nice talks during the breakfasts, which was very nice. The best things about a B&B are the special attention given by the owners, the intimacy of a small place and the diferential of a not-standardized services/decoration/mood. That was a perfect B&B experience!

The location is great. Colonia is a small town, and the B&B is almost in the historical center, a 5 minutes walk and you are there. Close to good restaurants.
I parked the car I rented in front of the B&B, there are plenty of places to park in the streets.

The person who gave "terrible" review don't understand a BED AND BREAKFAST concept. This persons expected a five star hotel, and this is not, it is a B&B. In my opinion (and this differ from person to person), I prefer B&Bs than 5 star hotels. B&Bs don't offer spa, gym or other things a 5 hotel offers, but insted it offers (as I said before) a custom and special service focused on the guest as an individual that have different likings. Five star hotels normally offers standardized services, the same in every country, and this is soooo boring... B&Bs are much more interesting! In this B&B I could talk to Fred and Jaky and learn a lot about Colonia and Uruguay and had awesome moments there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Suite Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Suite Apartments

Address: Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: $102 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonia Suite Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Suite is situated on the Colonia center, between the ferry terminal and the historic quarter. The building is an old renovated house from 1900. It has 3 suites and 1 bungalow suite, a garden and a big living room. Equipement: 1 doble bed ,1 lit de repos, cafetera electrica, small refrigerador , dishes, air conditioning, towels, hairdryer, sheets, TV, We offer an excelent breakfast and a brunch service until 7 pm. There are lots of art works, and a art library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colonia Suite Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Suite Apartments Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing