We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada El Capullo
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort(Colonia del Sacramento)
$175
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Posada del Virrey(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Mirador Hotel and Spa(Colonia del Sacramento)
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Viajero(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada de la Flor(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
$70
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Leoncia(Colonia del Sacramento)
$100
$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveler rating
321
189
31
11
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
189
31
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townyogurtgarden pool areacomfortable bedsmall poolsqueezed orange juicestayed here for two nightsfirst floorloungeuruguaymedialoftplaza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 556 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2012

El Capullo is very cozy, tasteful, excelent service, I felt at home, excente location.
Tom, Kelly and his team are great
Beautiful garden, where he grew up an area of ​​coexistence and rest very charming.
The best!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArleyBarreto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My parents and I spent the weekend in Colonia while celebrating my father's 80th birthday. The property is well maintained and run, the staff very courteous. We had an ample triple room with a well equppied full bathroom. The hotel has been recentely renovated and there is ongoing construction/expansion right next door ( that did not affect our stay at all). The decor is fresh, classic modern, and inviting at the same time. There is a great back patio with a pool and covered deck. Everything there is to see in the city is within a short walk. Is worthwhile renting a golf court only if you are staying for more than one day and plan to visit the Rambla (beaches) and Plaza de Toros.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We toured every Hotel (and Hostel) in town, and by far this is the best place to stay in Colonia! Immaculate, impeccable green design, friendly and accomodating staff, and fabulous garden/pool area. Parilla grill brings people together, plently of comfy places to hang out during the day with full sun or shade. A/C and hot water were endless ,down comforters on the beds with cotton sheets, and very rapid laundry service if you require it. Breakfast was top of the line with fresh juice, yogurt, cereal, meats and cheese, homemade breads and jams, and endless fresh coffee. Very tranquil and quiet place! Close to everything in town! Romantic, laid back, and fun! Did we mention the staff was fabulous???

Room Tip: We had a room by the pool area...excellent! But after touring whole facility we would say every room is special. Under 15 units so you get special attention no matter where you are.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After having lived in and travelled around Argentina for over 6 months, having stayed in many hotels, I just took my first trip to Uruguay and stayed at El Capullo. Everything was excellent, but I have to mention two things in particular. The bed was *AMAZING*, the softest most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, and the service was exceptional. We missed breakfast due to the time difference, and they went out of their way to serve us a huge private breakfast. Due to that, we missed our check out, which was no problem at all. The staff is super friendly, and I will definitly come back here in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We arrived to Colonia del Sacramento in the lowest season of all (I guess). It was very windy outside, however the little city is just worth the visit. You'll love it!
We arrived very late at night so we were very tired. We were taken to our room, but we noticed that it was way too close to the dining room, and we didn't want to wake up early with the noise of people having breakfast. They offered us another room a little bit further. It was smaller but very quite, tough. After deciding for 10 min, we just took our first offered room and it was the best decision (the hotel staff is very friendly, kind and patient). Bigger room and bed, modern bathroom, heat and a/c and a comfortable bed.
The breakfast was the highlight of our stay: fresh orange juice, delicious fresh fruit, bread, yogurt, ham and cheese. You can't go wrong with this meal...very healthy and fresh.
The hotel is pretty small, placed in a restored old house in a very central and quiet street, nearly to almost all the touristic spots on town.
El Capullo was certainly the best choice in Colonia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pieri_Peru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gooner4, Owner at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Thank you so much, you can come back anytime after a review like that :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews