We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet hotel in a great location”
Review of Posada El Capullo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada El Capullo
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet hotel in a great location”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Very clean and quiet hotel. There was free breakfast of cheese, homemade bread, meat, butter, jam, dulce de leche, etc We stayed in one of the rooms by the pool and it was very quiet. The hotel is half a block from the main plaza and the city is very walkable. It's about a 7 minute walk from the Buque Bus ferry from Buenos Aires and about a 10 minute walk from the bus station. We wish we could have stayed longer and relaxed more! It also has a pool patio small yard with chairs - felt like home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank groovyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    181
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
120
296
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Found this to be an excellent hotel, centrally located. Lovely rooms with own en suite bathrooms. Large garden with excellent outdoor pool. Spotlessly clean. Very good buffet breakfast. The owners were charming and helpful; we would certainly go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I read through many reviews of posadas in Colonia before choosing El Capullo, and I'm glad I did. It's a lovely house with modern decor and artful touches throughout the public areas, from the funky art in the breakfast room to the daybed in the garden by the pool. It's right in the centre of the old town on one of Colonia's beautiful tree lined streets, and just a couple minutes walk to a bunch of nice restaurants.

Based on earlier reviews about the noise in the front rooms, I chose a room at the back facing the garden, which had a little patio with two chairs looking onto the garden/pool, and we had no complaints about the noise. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The garden around the pool was very pretty and there were a good number of sun loungers around the pool.

We hired a golf cart from Thrifty for the day. It cost US$50 but was worth it as we had such fun driving it around! We drove to one of the beaches and all over town and had the best time. We had meals at El Drugstore, Viejo Barrio and Buen Suspiro and liked them all. Colonia is a great little town and it was worth spending a day and a couple of nights there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the posada, facing the garden/pool, as these will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokkstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natchez, LA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed there several nights in mid November and thoroughly enjoyed our visit- even delayed our return to BA by another night. The staff and owners were very accomodating in every aspect. Due to our unplanned extra night we moved from upstairs to the first floor and found it equally charming and comfortable with no issues of noise. This is an excellent choice for numerous reasons - location, quality rooms and service, amenities, breakfast, ambience and no language barriers. Would strongly recommend this city and the El Capullo as a destination.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The place ir really very beautiful, charming and clean. Good breakfast... But if you are intending to stay there, book a room upstairs. The first floor is very noisy. During the 2 nights I spent there it was a very annoying experience. We listened the TV and people in the lobby until late night, the noise in the kitchen starts at 6 to prepare breakfast. Not a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed here last weekend Nov 11, 2011. Reviewed all the options in this city beforehand. This is the place! Best location for seeing the old city. Super nice rooms with quality mattresses, and nice bathrooms (the ones by the pool, and the ones upstairs are the best). The owners are super nice ;) Good Breakfast as well and wifi internet was perfect I know you all probably think "who needs a pool", but having a lush green backyard with sitting areas to chat and lounge around over a glass of Uruguayan Tannat Wine is the best. I will go back. Zero complaints. My only fear is that by writing this review it will mean next time I go back it will be harder to get a room.

Room Tip: Pool areas rooms and upstairs rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLAX-BSAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gananoque, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed at the El Capullo on Feb7-8 and was very satisfied. We had arranged to have bicycles waiting for our arrival and as expected there were waiting out on the back patio. Our room was large with a very nice bathroom. The El Capullo has been expertly restored. We had the room just inside the door at street level and although this location could have been noisy we had no problem sleeping. The street is a beautiful tree lined street and doesn't have a lot of traffic. Our breakfasts were very good with lots of variety. The back yard and pool is very attractive even if the pool is on the smaller side. I would stay here again when revisiting Colonia

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
914 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,094 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Capullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Capullo

Property: Posada El Capullo
Address: 18 de Julio # 219, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Capullo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century house recently converted into a stunning, modern hotel located in the heart of the historical district. Magnificent garden and pool area make it ideal for both couples and families. Thirteen rooms and a brand new loft apartment all with A/C, LCD TVs, cable and WIFI. Services include buffet breakfast, pool, BBQ, garage, computer & TV lounge and wood fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada El Capullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Capullo Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada El Capullo Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing