We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Finca to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Estancia Finca Piedra
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice Finca to relax”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

After weeks of trying to decide where in the world to take my then 8-year old son for our annual mother-son vacation, I decided to go to Uruguay: beach, nice safe city (Montevideo) and wide open countryside. I love this country and my son was only 2 yrs the last time we visited. As I was going through a touristic guide at the bookstore, I came across Estancia Finca Piedra (unfortunately, I don’t remember which guide had this hotel listed). I was intrigued by the “gaucho” activities and happy about the location, as not being too far from Colonia del Sacramento (we went there as a day trip). I also invited a good female friend from Chile and the three of us arrived the Friday before Easter week. It was not difficult to find the place and the room was ready for us. We stayed in a corner room in the one-floor building near the kitchen. The room was cozy and the beds comfortable; the bathroom had enough hot water. We were the only guests that night, so service was very personalized.
The food is homemade and we enjoyed it a lot, though the Sunday asado was not as tender as others we had in Uruguay. They offered options for my son, but he liked the set menu, so we never had to get anything different; he particularly liked the pasta. My friend and I loved the deserts. There is a good variety of good wines, and there is nothing better than sipping a good wine by the fireplace. The pool was too cold for me to swim, particularly with not such great weather in mid-March, but reading by the pool was nice. Saturday and Sunday the place had many more people, and my son found another kid to play with, giving my friend and I more more time to catch up. Staff was nice and very attentive not being intrusive. We loved the place. The property is really big, and they can take you for a tour. The activities are good, but you have to let them know in advance what you want to do. In spite of all the cows, horses and the small zoo, my son decided that the best were the cats. He was very upset when a couple of the dogs attacked a cat; luckily, the nice Paraguayan girl who worked there took care of it when we called her. I’d say that the “domestic dog-cat violence” was the only negative of our stay here, plus one of the young dogs bit my son the day we arrived. Again, they took care of it quickly and the bite was not bad. Well, the insect bites were not pleasant, but what would one expect from being in the countryside. Maybe, the hotel could make city folks like us feel a bit better, by providing (or even selling) repellent to prevent the mosquito bites or calamine to deal with the itchiness afterwards.
I do recommend this place and definitively plan to visit it again. However, next time I probably will not go straight from the airport. I think it’d be better to go after a few days of having been on vacation, to make the transition between busy city-life in the US and the several hours plane ride to a quiet country side hotel a bit less “intense”.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiscarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    33
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
37
51
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worldtraveller
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Staying at Finca Piedra was the highlight of our trip to Uruguay. The welcome was warm and we felt like part of the family rather than guests in a hotel. We enjoyed a horse and cart tour of the estancia with our fascinating guide which was followed up another day with a horse back ride to a different part of the estate. There was an opportunity for fishing in the stream too although it was rather a long trek on foot through the pasture land. As others have commented there was a lot of eating to be done and delicious estate wines to enjoy. During a rather wet spell a taxi was organised to take us to the nearby town of San Jose and then on to Nueva Helvetia and a visit to the milk museum which was quite fascinating. Ines, Thor and all the other members of the team at Finca Piedra looked after us so well and made our stay so memorable and enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our small tour group only spent two nights here, but we appreciated the facilities and the very friendly and helpful staff. After checking in, most of us headed to the pool for a swim or a nap in the cabana, right after a very welcomed and well-prepared lunch. Later, a few tried their hands (literally) at milking cows. A rousing game of bocce preceded dinner. We were somewhat distracted from our game by the array of animals in the nearby fields. The next day we awakened to a steady downpour, but that didn't stop a group of us from heading out on horseback, led by our German gaucho, to ride through fields of grain and vineyards. Some took the opportunity to stretch out in the spacious dining/sitting area with their books. Many of the staff spoke very good English. Food was very good. The wines excellent (from their own vineyards). The only downside were mosquitoes in the bedrooms the first night. By the second night we had learned to use the repellant that fits into the electrical plug-ins. All in all, a very pleasant, relaxing time.

Room Tip: For a good view of the rolling landscape, as for a second floor room in the Caballeriza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Finca Piedra combines the feeling of a real Uruguayan Estancia with European standards and class. Guests are welcomed with the typical affectionate hospitality of this country while enjoying high quality meals accompanied by wonderful and well-chosen wines. And there's LOTS of eating every day! My personal favourite was the Chicken Stroganov and the cook is a true masterchef where desserts are concerned. The personal is attentive and genuinely friendly without exception. Also this must be the most international Estancia in all of Uruguay so there is always someone with an interesting story or translation skills :)
There are loads of activities of which horse riding is the absolute highlight!! You get to see and learn about the property and the country with a real Gaucho while strolling through the fields, vineyards or sierras on one of the beautiful and very patient horses. I was especially amazed by the Sierras de Mahoma which is an enchanted sea of granite boulders and a protected heritage site. There are a bunch of other activities around the farm and provided with a map and loads of tips we did a lot of exploring on our own as well. It's definitely worth staying at least 3 or 4 days so you can experience all the activities and still have time to relax by the pool with a view of the vineyard.
The rooms are lovely and clean and have a very personal and homely atmosphere with super comfy beds and fotos of the estancia and its animals on the walls. Also they have names that correspond to the buildings :) It's just one of the little details that make this place so special.
All in all Finca Piedra is the perfect spot for peace or adventure in an exquisite setting.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms in the Caballeriza building are a bit more expensive but they're worth it if on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kallikarotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

This estancia has a beautiful setting with lovely pool and many outdoor activities. We loved horseback riding through the fields and vineyard, watching the sheep shearing and milking the cow. Since the weather was only 18 C with cold winds it was not suitable for sitting on the patio and around the pool. Despite beautiful grounds and fun activities, many things were lacking perhaps due to low season. Our stay may have been better if the owners were there. The food delivered to our small group of 7 would not be considered restaurant quality despite its good appearance. I suspect that the kitchen is more suited to serving large groups. the homemade yogurt with fresh cows milk could have been great if it wasn't lumpy and made people nervous about quality control. The freshly made leek tart looked beautiful but was undercooked with 1/4" raw dough. The chicken stew tasted ok but the small portion of one chicken drumette left me starving. Rooms are basic and just ok. They can get very hot at night without AC and the window screens prevent air flow. Most people left with many mosquito bites from the previous night. Pillows were too hard and uncomfortable. Customer service varies. There was a noticeable difference in the food, time and attention given to the weekly bus tour that arrived on the day of our departure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bargue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirchhundem, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Rarely have I been at a place where food and wine matched so well and were of constant high quality. Add the attentive service and the beautiful surroundings and you will have just the right mixture for some relaxing days in the countryside. If you want to be entertained, there is horseback riding or, for the less adventurous, being driven around in a horse-drawn cart, long walks, wine tasting, fishing etc. On a winter's evening, after having watched a sunset with blue and rosé hues, sit by the fire and drink a glass of their wine.
The only thing I did not enjoy, but that has nothing to do with the hotel itself, is that there are guests lacking proper manners and spoiling a good meal or disturbing guests sitting by the fire place with loud conversations on their cell phones.

Room Tip: Even if it costs a bit more, do not choose a standard room in the main house. It can get a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eimaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argentina-Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

wonderful vineyards,pool,horses,dairy,food!
young owners who know their business,
worth staying there for at least 2 or 3 days.
Don't miss the sunset in Sierras de Mahoma!
different appartments you can choose!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marisol61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colonia del Sacramento
55.4 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,087 reviews
20.0 mi away
Hotel Nirvana
Hotel Nirvana
#1 of 1 in Nueva Helvecia
147 reviews
56.7 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.3 mi away
El Mirador Hotel and Spa
El Mirador Hotel and Spa
#15 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
444 reviews
56.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,094 reviews
51.7 mi away
Days Inn Casa Del Sol Colonia
Days Inn Casa Del Sol Colonia
#14 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia Finca Piedra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Finca Piedra

Property: Estancia Finca Piedra
Address: Ruta 23 Km 125 | Mal Abrigo, Colonia del Sacramento 80003, Uruguay
Location: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Estancia Finca Piedra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Expanding over 1000 hectares in Mahoma hills, Finca Piedra reveals the authentic Uruguayan country life with the sophisticated European style. It is located only 125 km from Montevideo (with direct access by bus) and 110 km from Colonia. Its convenient location allows access from Buenos Aires in just two and a half hours. Finca Piedra offers comfortable rooms with en suite bathrooms, decorated in traditional style and set according to the building where they are located. Wi-fi access is available free of charge in all of the common areas of the estancia. Our Franco-Uruguayan kitchen team prepares delicious meals boasting the best flavors from both cultures. Our homemade wines harmoniously complete your meal. We also cater separate menus for diabetics, vegetarians, gluten-free or other special diets (with advance notice). At Finca Piedra we offer a wide variety of free and guided activities so everybody can enjoy each moment at their own pace. Whether on horseback, carriage, walking or biking, you will marvel at the surrounding natural landscapes: the Mahoma hills natural reserve, our 20 hectares of vineyards, La Coronilla stream and the "lakes". You'll be able to observe the rich bird life and flora during these outings. We also offer special activities for children such as participating in the milking of the cow, tours of our animal farm, a games room with amenities such as a ping-pong table, foosball, a pool table and a trampoline, a bocce ball court, a volleyball court, a football field, a racquetball court and of course our outside pool with vineyard views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Estancia Finca Piedra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Finca Piedra Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Estancia Finca Piedra Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing